Author Topic: Backing up my storage pool  (Read 1409 times)

Offline bigcooljesus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Backing up my storage pool
« on: July 18, 2012, 01:11:29 am »
Hey guys,

I am going to be making a storage pool of (5) 3TB Hard Drives that will be holding my entire movie collection for network streaming in Windows 7. I will also be purchasing (5) 3TB External Hard Drives to backup each internal hard drive.

When the storage pool is made will I still be able to backup each individual drive to an equivalent external hard drive?

Thanks

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Backing up my storage pool
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2012, 06:48:39 am »
If you use an expert mode configuration, this would be a non-issue.

Cruise Control takes ownership of your drives and restricts you from them.
What you would have to do is create additional mount points on the source drives (give the drives drive letters or mount them to folders).
Note however that this is not supported if you are using Real-Time RAID.

Offline bigcooljesus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Backing up my storage pool
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2012, 10:31:42 am »
If you use an expert mode configuration, this would be a non-issue.

Cruise Control takes ownership of your drives and restricts you from them.
What you would have to do is create additional mount points on the source drives (give the drives drive letters or mount them to folders).
Note however that this is not supported if you are using Real-Time RAID.

I will be using expert mode, so each individual drive will still be visible/accessible along with the storage pool drive FlexRAID will create?

Also, I am starting off with just two of my hard drives for now and will be adding a new one every two weeks. When I add a new one it's as simple as opening up the FlexRAID program and adding it to the existing storage pool, even if there is data already present in the storage pool, correct?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: July 18, 2012, 10:36:15 am by bigcooljesus »

Offline m0t0k0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Backing up my storage pool
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2012, 11:10:34 am »

That is correct you can add a full or empty drive to a populated pool
WHS 2011
Transparent RAID