Author Topic: Excluding drive(s) from parity count  (Read 2367 times)

Offline Warlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Excluding drive(s) from parity count
« on: August 20, 2012, 11:45:35 pm »
I have a RAID5 array ( hardware raid controller ) in my storage pool and there is nothing to gain if this RAID5 array is counted to the PPU parity. Besides the RAID5 array is 20TB  ( 12x 2TB )  while my PPU drive is only 3TB.
DRU1 2TB
DRU2 2TB
DRU3 2TB
DRU4 3TB
DRU5 3TB
PPU1 3TB
DRU6 20TB ( RAID5 array )
I like DRU6 to be excluded from the parity count.

Offline b-earl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 652
  • Karma: +13/-1
    • View Profile
Sv: Excluding drive(s) from parity count
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2012, 01:37:51 am »
Hi warlock,

You will have to use expert mode. First make a raid only for the DRU's 1-5 and then make a storagepool only with the flexraid raid and the hardware raid in it.
Server HW: Chenbro RM41416 case | Supermicro X10SLM-F + LSI SAS 9305-16i | Xeon E3-1231 v3 | 16 GB DDR3 ECC Ram
Server OS:   Windows Server 2016 (UEFI) on 250 GB Samsung 850 Evo ssd
Transparent RAID 1.1.0 2017.02.11
Backupserver: Supermicro X9SCM-F UEFI + LSI SAS9211-8i IT FW
Server OS: Win 2016

Offline Warlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Excluding drive(s) from parity count
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2012, 12:17:46 pm »
i can't use real-time 't is way :-(
only if i make a "expert snapshot flexraid array" but this is not what i wan't :(

and how do i add a "expert snapshot flexraid array" to a storage pool it have no drive letter or folder assigned to it

Offline b-earl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 652
  • Karma: +13/-1
    • View Profile
Sv: Excluding drive(s) from parity count
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2012, 12:42:48 pm »
Hi warlock,
It should be possible to use expertmode and realtime. Have you deleted the other arrays? Because at the moment it is only possible to have one realtime raid array.

First configure the realtime array and initialize it. Perhaps a restart before next step. Then configure the storagepool with the hardware raid and the realtime raid.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2012, 12:45:19 pm by b-earl »
Server HW: Chenbro RM41416 case | Supermicro X10SLM-F + LSI SAS 9305-16i | Xeon E3-1231 v3 | 16 GB DDR3 ECC Ram
Server OS:   Windows Server 2016 (UEFI) on 250 GB Samsung 850 Evo ssd
Transparent RAID 1.1.0 2017.02.11
Backupserver: Supermicro X9SCM-F UEFI + LSI SAS9211-8i IT FW
Server OS: Win 2016

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Excluding drive(s) from parity count
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2012, 03:45:59 pm »
@Warlock
You will not be able to use your RAID-5 array in a FlexRAID RT RAID configuration unless you make it the PPU (whether Cruise Control or Expert).
There is just no way around that.

Your only other option would be to switch to Snapshot RAID + separate Pooling Configuration in Expert mode.
In such case, you will have a Snapshot RAID + your RAID-5 both under a common storage pool.

It is important to understand the protect semantics. RAID is meant to protect and including another RAID as DRU would cause a double protection and will require the appropriate PPU size.
Cruise Control does not have a way to exclude a DRU from the set of protected DRUs since it would be silly to have a read/write pool with some DRUs protected and others not.

Offline Warlock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Excluding drive(s) from parity count
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2012, 06:41:20 am »
I can't do Real-Time RAID + Storage Pool
So I better do a request for that. It would make more sense  ;)