Author Topic: Simulate Drive Failure - No Staus Alert  (Read 2249 times)

Offline BigXor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Simulate Drive Failure - No Staus Alert
« on: August 27, 2012, 12:47:20 pm »
I created a pool in Cruise Control and Expert mode, when I pull a drive there isn't any alert, email or anything to alert me to a failure or which drive. If I try to use the pooled drive I get a Windows alert popup.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Simulate Drive Failure - No Staus Alert
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2012, 01:08:14 pm »
Indeed. Drive fitness is an aspect of the SMART feature.

Because users can have their drives in sleep mode or offline, the RAID feature does not concert itself with those states except for the case of a Snapshot update.
So, use the drive monitoring feature.

Offline BigXor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Simulate Drive Failure - No Staus Alert
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2012, 01:12:32 pm »
OK, sounds logical, but SMART status says it sits behind SAT Layer and does not display drive info.

I have no clue what that means or where to add the arguments.

SMART Displays in HD Tune.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2012, 01:39:49 pm by BigXor »

Offline kubed_zero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Simulate Drive Failure - No Staus Alert
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2012, 10:18:53 pm »
I too am having this problem. I installed smartmontools and am able to see the SMART data through there, but not through the FlexRAID interface

Offline falstaff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Simulate Drive Failure - No Staus Alert
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2012, 06:19:09 am »
What controller are you using?
Maybe this will help - http://forum.flexraid.com/index.php/topic,619.msg10539.html#msg10539

Offline kubed_zero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Simulate Drive Failure - No Staus Alert
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2012, 09:46:55 am »
I too have an IBM M1015 flashed to IR mode. I'll give the suggestions a try and see where that gets me