Author Topic: 2TB and 4TB DRU/PPU Setup?  (Read 1876 times)

Offline Raralith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
2TB and 4TB DRU/PPU Setup?
« on: October 14, 2012, 01:26:07 pm »
Hey all, I'm looking to expand my setup and start  to move off of my older 2TB drives. I am not sure what the best setup would be for my situation, and I'm wondering if there is an ideal setup. I've currently got 4x 2TB setup as 3x 2TB DRU and 1x 2TB PPU. I will be purchasing a 4TB with intentions of adding more 4TB's, and slowly replace the 2TB when I run out of physical space. Specifically for the first 4TB, what would be the most optimal setup?
- Option 1: 4TB as PPU, 4TB (spanned 2x 2TB) DRU + 4TB (spanned 2x 2TB) DRU
- Option 2: 4TB (spanned 2x 2TB) as PPU, 4TB (spanned 2x 2TB) DRU + 4TB DRU

Offline jrwalte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2TB and 4TB DRU/PPU Setup?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2012, 02:21:08 pm »
I'd go with option 1.

I don't like the idea of the PPU having 2 failure points/two points of corruption, but maybe that's just me.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: 2TB and 4TB DRU/PPU Setup?
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2012, 08:47:31 pm »
Option 1.

Offline b-earl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 660
  • Karma: +13/-1
    • View Profile
Sv: 2TB and 4TB DRU/PPU Setup?
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2012, 12:49:47 am »
Hi raralith,
Option 2 is only possible if you use snapshot. In RT you can only have one ppu.
I would also recommend option 1
« Last Edit: October 15, 2012, 12:51:35 am by b-earl »
Server HW: Chenbro RM41416 case | Supermicro X11SCZ-F + LSI SAS 9305-16i | i3-8300 | 16 GB DDR4 ECC Ram
Server OS:   Windows Server 2016 (UEFI) on  250 GB Samsung 970 Evo M.2 ssd
tRAID 1.1.0 2017.02.11
Backupserver: Supermicro X10SLM-F UEFI + LSI SAS9211-8i IT FW
Server OS: Win 2016 + tRAID