Author Topic: NOOB server build  (Read 2780 times)

Offline thomps33

• View Profile
NOOB server build
« on: November 30, 2012, 11:09:09 am »
I'm a complete NOOB at servers. Just for a little back ground info, I have about 200 blurays that I want to put on a server and once the server is up I'll be adding more quickly. I'm running 2 Mac Mini's running windows 8 with XBMC. Ripping duties will be reserved for a MacBook Pro or Imac using OSX. Yes, I love apple products. I've been looking at hardware raids, unRAID and flexRAID and decided flexRAID is probably best for me.

I could use some help with the server build. Last time I built a computer was back in 2001, and I don't remember much. I want to use 3 tb drives http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Barracuda-3-5-Inch-Internal-ST3000DM001/dp/B005T3GRLY and a SSD for the OS. I want the case to hold about 16 drives. I'm thinking of using a parity for every 5 HDD's, does that sound acceptable? The server will probably need to transcode movies in the future, run CouchPotato and SickBeard among others I'm not aware of yet. Can someone recommend a case, mobo, CPU, and power supply?I don't even know where to start.  Also leaning towards using windows 8 for the server just to keep the number of OS' to a minimum.

Please comment, make suggestions, or tell me I'm an idiot and my plan won't work.
THANK YOU!!!!
« Last Edit: November 30, 2012, 11:12:57 am by thomps33 »

Offline h0ly lag

• View Profile

Offline lrissman

• View Profile
Re: NOOB server build
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2012, 08:33:03 am »
If you are using older disks that you scrounge up from place to place, it is nice to have LOTS of disk expansion room (and hot-swap for the failures you will encounter).   This is my setup:

It is really expensive, and ugly sitting on a desk (I am sure it is nice in a rack with rails), but I really like the # of disks and hot-swap backplans of the Norco Cases.