Author Topic: Restore DRU and Error  (Read 3986 times)

am3nd

  • Guest
Restore DRU and Error
« on: October 31, 2011, 03:29:12 am »
Hi all,

Am new to FlexRAID so please bare with me. I wanted to test out a restore on a new hdd just to ensure things actually worked.

Turned PC off, I disconnected DRU2 "F: TV Shows", plugged in a brand new hdd, turned the PC back on, went into FlexRAID and asked it to Restore DRU2 to the new hdd I put in with the same drive letter as the apparent failed drive.

I get this:

The [] task has successfully initiated… Process number: 4
Name: Metadata Scanner Process
Start Date: Mon Oct 31 18:29:03 GMT+1100 2011
End Date: Mon Oct 31 18:29:09 GMT+1100 2011
Duration: 00:00:05
Throughput: N/A

An exception has occurred!
See logs for full message.
Error message: null

Name: Data Scanner Process
Start Date: Mon Oct 31 18:29:09 GMT+1100 2011
End Date: Mon Oct 31 18:30:21 GMT+1100 2011
Duration: 00:01:12
Throughput: N/A

Name: Restore Pre-Validation Process
Start Date: Mon Oct 31 18:30:21 GMT+1100 2011
End Date: Mon Oct 31 18:30:21 GMT+1100 2011
Duration: 00:00:00
Throughput: 8283923.70 MB/s

Logs:

[2011-10-31 18:29:03,450] INFO : Executing restore…
[2011-10-31 18:29:03,450] INFO : [restore] started at: Mon Oct 31 18:29:03 EST 2011
[2011-10-31 18:29:09,282] INFO : Using RAID engine Tx
[2011-10-31 18:29:09,282] INFO : Preparing to restore DRU2
[2011-10-31 18:29:09,282] INFO : Will restore to original paths
[2011-10-31 18:29:09,282] WARN : Full pre-validation on restore has been disabled! – No attempt to recover from data rot will be made…
[2011-10-31 18:30:21,415] ERROR:
java.util.ConcurrentModificationException
at java.lang.Void.(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Void.(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Void.(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Void.(Unknown Source)
[2011-10-31 18:30:21,601] INFO : [restore] completed at: Mon Oct 31 18:30:21 EST 2011

What does this mean? :/

Offline TheJackal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Restore DRU and Error
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2011, 01:13:12 pm »
I assume you mounted the new drive to the same location as the old drive?  I actually had a failure and will receive my new drive tomorrow.  Hoping the restore goes smoothly.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Restore DRU and Error
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2011, 02:46:43 pm »
@am3nd

This is a known bug that has been fixed for the next release.
I recently introduced this bug in Preview XII.  :-[

If this is not a test and you really need to restore the data, PM me for an alternate build that does not have this bug.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2011, 02:48:58 pm by Brahim »

am3nd

  • Guest
Re: Restore DRU and Error
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2011, 06:45:25 pm »
Yes, I did make sure the drive letter was the same. Same error result however.

So .. failing to restore a DRU is a known bug? Isn't the entire purpose of this software to restore failed drives? Sorry if that sounds rude, but I'm just gobsmacked. How many other people have not thought to test their arrays and aren't REALLY operating with redundancy?

This was a test, but I might as well not even use FlexRAID if I can't restore a failed drive.

Again, sorry if it's rude sounding, but I'm majorly ticked off here.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Restore DRU and Error
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2011, 08:14:38 pm »
Yes, I did make sure the drive letter was the same. Same error result however.

So .. failing to restore a DRU is a known bug? Isn't the entire purpose of this software to restore failed drives? Sorry if that sounds rude, but I'm just gobsmacked. How many other people have not thought to test their arrays and aren't REALLY operating with redundancy?

This was a test, but I might as well not even use FlexRAID if I can't restore a failed drive.

Again, sorry if it's rude sounding, but I'm majorly ticked off here.

Maybe it's because:
1. it's fixed
2. the bug is particular to this build and only happens under specific circumstances
3. there are alternate builds if you really need to recover
? ???

Essentially, your RAID was out of sync and FlexRAID was applying some of its advanced recovery process to recover despite the RAID being out of sync.
I added an optimization in that build that ended up introducing a bug.

Testing as you did is what you are supposed to do.
Bitching, however, is not part of that process. ;)


am3nd

  • Guest
Re: Restore DRU and Error
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2011, 09:18:33 pm »
Hahah okay, I do apologise. I read it as 'for the next release' as in it was some time off before the bug would be fixed.

So what are my solution tasks? If the bug exists under this build, what one do I move to so I can successfully test a DRU restore?

I'm running the parity update right now so it's current.

Thanks for your help!

Offline brosco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Restore DRU and Error
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2011, 10:59:28 am »
I had the same Error I just kept trying, reboot try...etc it finally went.

Offline jimmydrac

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Restore DRU and Error
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2011, 11:41:07 am »
Bitching, however, is not part of that process. ;)

Could somebody please tell my ex-wife that!!    ;D
Windows X64
Gigabyte ep45-ud3p Q9550
5DRU 2TB Seagate LP
1PPU 2TB Seagate LP
Cruise Control with Snapshot Raid
Beta 11R2

am3nd

  • Guest
Re: Restore DRU and Error
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2011, 10:34:28 pm »
I tried 4 times to make the restore work.


Brahim, are you able to provide more information on what I have to do to get rid of the bug? Thank you !

am3nd

  • Guest
Re: Restore DRU and Error
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2011, 11:08:18 pm »
When I hover over the right hand corner of FlexRAID, it says Preview X 12/02/2011.

However the installation file that I still have on my computer is FlexRAID-2.0-PreviewXII-Setup.exe.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Restore DRU and Error
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2011, 05:08:03 am »
I tried 4 times to make the restore work.


Brahim, are you able to provide more information on what I have to do to get rid of the bug? Thank you !
As previously stated, the bug has long been fixed and users have to wait for the next release.
That said, if you need to restore, PM me and I will provide you with an alternate build.

I introduced a bug in Preview XII that is causing the issue for some users.
The bug was fixed early on, but I have been busy trying to push the beta release out.

The Linux version is in open beta. The Windows version is in private beta and will be public in a week or two.