Author Topic: Storage pool not working (WHS)  (Read 2473 times)

Offline yug3sh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Storage pool not working (WHS)
« on: November 01, 2011, 08:36:43 pm »
I installed the latest beta of FlexRAID on WHS 2011.

I then setup a storage pool and mapped it to drive Z.

Whenever I try copying files to the virtual drive, I get a window that says the file already exists. If I select copy / replace (or even copy as <file>2), I get an error that there is insufficient space on the drive.

If I then refresh the file system (or go to the physical drive in WHS), I see that an empty file was created with the same name.

Anyone have any suggestions how to resolve this?

Thanks!

Offline yug3sh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not working (WHS)
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2011, 12:11:26 pm »
Anyone with any suggestions?

I've deleted and re-created the storage pool many times, and still have the same issue.

Thanks!

Offline jasonwc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not working (WHS)
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2011, 01:07:41 pm »
Are you saving to the root of the storage pool or a subfolder?
Norco RPC-4224 4U Rackmount Case (24 Hotswap Bays) | Asus P8B Workstation Motherboard (four PCI-E 16x slots @ 8x/8x/4x/4x and dual 82574L Intel server NICs) | Core i3-2100 | Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8 SAS Controller | Corsair TX650v2 PSU | Currently 16 TB array, 2 TB parity | WHS 2011

Online Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not working (WHS)
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2011, 03:21:30 pm »
@yug3sh
You need to post more details about your configuration.
Logs are also useful.

Offline yug3sh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not working (WHS)
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2011, 03:40:03 pm »
Hi,

Thanks for the replies. It doesn't seem to matter where I copy the files. I always get the same error (file already exists).

Brahim, my configuration is WHS 2011 with 5 x 1TB data hard disks and a 340GB OS disk, all formated to NTFS. I am using 3 hard disks for data (DRU's) and 2 for parity (PPUs). I am trying to configure the 3 data DRU's in a storage pool.

I just looked at the FlexRaid logs and noticed some errors... here's some text from the logs:

<DM log>

FlexRAID Disk Manager: DeviceIoControl error: 6
FlexRAID Disk Manager: event= 0
FlexRAID Disk Manager: connect event
FlexRAID Disk Manager Mount
DriveLetter: z, DeviceName \Device\Volume{d6cc17c5-1731-4085-bce7-964f1e9f5de9}
FlexRAID Disk Manager: DeviceIoControl error: 6

<sys log>

      [GetOperationResult] ViewOperationException: ErrorCode=183
      [ERROR]:[OnGetFileSecurity] GetFileSecurity: error=122, msg=Unknown error
         \Backups ->

      [ERROR]:[OnGetFileSecurity] GetFileSecurity: error=122, msg=Unknown error
         \Backups ->

      [ERROR]:[OnCreateDirectory] CreateDirectory: error=183, msg=Unknown error
         \Backups -> \\?\F:\Backups

      [GetOperationResult] ViewOperationException: ErrorCode=1627
      [ERROR]:[OnCreateFile] CREATE_NEW_FILE_ALWAYS: error=1627, msg=Unknown error
         \Backups\FlexRAID.sys.log -> \\?\F:\Backups\FlexRAID.sys.log

      [GetOperationResult] ViewOperationException: ErrorCode=183


Just one other note... I had my WHS hard disks configured in RAID 10 previously. I've kept the RAID controller driver (i.e. didn't switch from RAID mode to AHCI), however, I've deleted the RAID array and am just using the drives as regular drives (albeit with the RAID controller driver in WHS). Not sure if this might be contributing to the error in some way.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: November 02, 2011, 03:47:15 pm by yug3sh »

Online Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not working (WHS)
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2011, 03:55:02 pm »
Well, FlexRAID is finding that the files you are trying to create already exist.
If your statements are that the files in questions don't exist, then I am not sure what's really going on there.
Make sure the files in question don't have exiting ones that might be hidden or something of that nature.

What program are you using to create those files?

Offline yug3sh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not working (WHS)
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2011, 04:01:58 pm »
Thanks for the quick reply.

I am just using Windows explorer to test the storage pool. I'm copying a file from my OS drive (which isn't configured in FlexRaid in any way) to the storage pool drive. The file does not exist anywhere in the storage pool, but I consistently get the error that the file exists, and if I say overwrite, then it complains file is too large for the destination drive (file is about 100k, storage pool has almost 3TB free).

Offline yug3sh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not working (WHS)
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2011, 05:16:02 pm »

Ok, I managed to resolve the problem. I completely uninstalled FlexRaid (had to manually stop the service and delete the install folder, since this didn't seem to get uninstalled). Rebooted, installed flexRaid, rebooted, and then configured the storage pool.

Took a couple tries, of uninstalling and re-installing, but the storage pool now seems to be fixed... gonna setup my Raid next. Finger's crossed that it works as well...

Not sure what was causing the problem.