Author Topic: Virtualbox Running on a RT drive?  (Read 1628 times)

Offline akaScuba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Virtualbox Running on a RT drive?
« on: January 24, 2013, 03:55:17 pm »
I have 3 virtual machines with virtual drives stored on drive V:

Name                Virtual Size     Actual Size        Details
MachineA.vdi           500 GB           500 GB          Fixed Size Storage
MachineB.vdi            80 GB          1.87 GB          Dynamically allocated storage
MachineC.vmdk           20 GB         18.88 GB          Dynamically allocated storage


( ) Is it ok to run virtual machines on the real-time raid drive?

( ) Does it matter if the drives are Dynamically allocated or Fixed?





FlexRAID 2.0 Final Update 11
Real-Time Raid/Cruize Control
Reserve: 50GB
Removable: false
Filesystem: NTFS
Minimum allocation size: 512KB

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Virtualbox Running on a RT drive?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2013, 04:00:14 pm »
1. I personally would not do that. I always recommend RAID 1 for a VM data store.
2. If you insist on running the VM off RT RAID, go with fixed disk sizes.  Dynamic disks could prove problematic due to fragmentation.

Offline akaScuba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Virtualbox Running on a RT drive?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2013, 04:41:59 pm »
Good point!  Thanks for mentioning Raid1 cause I keep putting it off thinking that my FlexRaid drive is enough!  --so simple to setup RAID 1 Mirroring with Windows 7 ( http://buildegg.com/bewp/?p=44 )


I think i'll just backup the VMs (from within) with differentials to my V: drive, since I have Crashplan pointing to V:

Thanks again!