Author Topic: I think I am ready to make the move from unraid.  (Read 680 times)

Offline jesseasi

• View Profile
I think I am ready to make the move from unraid.
« on: February 21, 2013, 10:57:49 am »
I have been a pro unraid user since the beginning.  Running it the last 5+ years.   

I think I have out grown unraid and would like to run more power FTP servers and windows applications.  But I have some questions.

1. Is FlexRaid ready for Windows Server 2012?  I did some searches and see some issues with moving files while others report no issues.  I want to be 100% sure it is good to go for me.
2. Migration - I have 22 Drives in my unraid - with probably 17TB worth of data.   What is the best way to migrate the data over to the windows OS?   From what I have read - I may be best suited to add one 3TB drive - and then use a third party app that will allow me to read the Reiserfs and move the data from one drive at a time.  Then add the empty drive to the flexraid and repeat....
3. Snapshot Raid vs Real Time Raid.   Can both be run at the same time?   Snapshot is probably all that I need - but when you recync the data - how long does it take?   Does it only need to sync the new data?   With unraid - when I do parity checks it can take 8-10 hours. 

I am very interested to hear how anyone else have moved from unraid to flexraid.

Also - the monkey wrench is all this is the new product being worked on - NZFS.   From the little previews - it sounds like the ultimate solution.   Will migrating from Flexraid to NZFS be easy?

Offline jesseasi

• View Profile
Re: I think I am ready to make the move from unraid.
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2013, 02:53:49 pm »
After some research - i am not sure "snapshot" is the right solution for me.   I write to my array too much for me to risk losing data.  And if a drive has failed - it appears any file changes could prevent a restore.

Realtime parity is probably what I need. 

Any feedback or tips would be greatly appreciated.