Author Topic: Adding new DRU to Pool  (Read 1590 times)

Offline ult.nrg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Adding new DRU to Pool
« on: March 11, 2013, 07:02:22 am »
New to flexraid and have two quick questions:

I set up flexraid with 1x 3TB PPU and 1x 3TB DRU, while I was waiting for my 2TB drive to come back from warranty.

Now that the 2TB is back, I am wondering what I should do when adding it as a DRU. I have about 1.5TB of used space in the pool (so on the current 3TB DRU). Should I move some of this data onto the new (empty) 2TB DRU or should I just add it to the pool as an empty drive?

Also, I have run out of SATA ports and the new 2TB drive is running on a SATA card. The drive is making a strange "click" noise every 20 or so seconds (currently running a full format). I want to test if the drive is strange or if it's the SATA card. Am I able to shut down the PC, swap the SATA connection on one of the 3TB drives with the 2TB drive and bring up the PC and expect it to be transparent to flexraid? Or will I break my RAID?

Thanks!

Offline ult.nrg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding new DRU to Pool
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2013, 07:19:55 pm »
Bump, anyone? :)

Offline b-earl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 660
  • Karma: +13/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Adding new DRU to Pool
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2013, 02:30:45 am »
Have you looked if there is any new firmware for the drive? That can sometimes take the click away.
Server HW: Chenbro RM41416 case | Supermicro X11SCZ-F + LSI SAS 9305-16i | i3-8300 | 16 GB DDR4 ECC Ram
Server OS:   Windows Server 2016 (UEFI) on  250 GB Samsung 970 Evo M.2 ssd
tRAID 1.1.0 2017.02.11
Backupserver: Supermicro X10SLM-F UEFI + LSI SAS9211-8i IT FW
Server OS: Win 2016 + tRAID

Offline ult.nrg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding new DRU to Pool
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2013, 06:33:55 pm »
Hmm not too fussed on the click, was mainly wondering if i should spread data across multiple drives or put the new DRU in empty.

Also wanted to know about changing the SATA ports around as an FYI (as I will no doubt change SATA cards in the future)