Author Topic: copying to raid network share out of space though not out of space?  (Read 2584 times)

Offline markm75

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
I've got a snapshot raid TX engine setup, 3 4TB drives... one is a PPU.  I had everything set.. around 7 TB free to start.. I used the standard windows 7 security/sharing options to share out the raid drive.

I initiated a copy of 6 TB of data..

apparently once the first of the two 4TB drives hit maximum, the windows file transfer stalled, saying out of space, though if you view in windows explorer there is still 3TB free or so (3.64 TB used, this being the max of one of the 4TB drives).

The copy is going from Windows 8 to the FlexRaid Windows 7 box.

Any idea why it didnt just keep the file transfer going and move onto the next of the 4TB drives in the raid array?\

Thanks
« Last Edit: April 01, 2013, 04:48:18 pm by markm75 »

Offline markm75

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: copying to raid network share out of space though not out of space?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2013, 05:03:01 pm »
I decided to reboot the win 7 flexraid box.

When I rebooted, the drive letter for the flexraid had changed to Z (from V).

So at this point I opted to use the flexraid network share option instead of windows.

After doing this, I resumed the file transfer and its working.

So i'm not sure which was the fix..
A reboot (why would I need to do this, to roll onto the next dru.. seems silly).. or the usage of the network share portion of flexraid instead of the windows 7 interface?


Offline amarshonarbangla

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: +1/-3
    • View Profile
Re: copying to raid network share out of space though not out of space?
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2013, 10:03:18 pm »
So i'm not sure which was the fix..
A reboot (why would I need to do this, to roll onto the next dru.. seems silly).. or the usage of the network share portion of flexraid instead of the windows 7 interface?

The latter was most likely the solution. You have to apply the same sharing settings within FlexRAID interface as Windows 7. Setting the shares just in Windows 7 is not enough.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: copying to raid network share out of space though not out of space?
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2013, 09:44:42 am »
@markm75
Check your reserve space setting (in the advanced properties section).
The default is 10GB (I think) and you might need to bump it up to 50GB to avoid this issue in the future.

Offline markm75

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: copying to raid network share out of space though not out of space?
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2013, 01:25:12 pm »
Thanks for that info.. the setting was already on 50GB apparently.


Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: copying to raid network share out of space though not out of space?
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2013, 03:28:46 pm »
Thanks for that info.. the setting was already on 50GB apparently.
How large was the file you were copying?

Offline markm75

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: copying to raid network share out of space though not out of space?
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2013, 08:39:00 am »
Well the whole set was about 4.5 TB.. the actual file that bombed might have been anywhere from 30-50GB max, just guessing (a bluray stream file).