Author Topic: Storage pool not showing up in windows after it starts up  (Read 2330 times)

Offline bmaffin13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Storage pool not showing up in windows after it starts up
« on: April 11, 2013, 09:45:37 am »
So everything was working fine then my trial ran out.  I bought the combo and extended my trial since I still haven't received the activation info.  That seemed to work fine, but ever since then I cannot get a snapraid pool to actually show up in windows explorer.  The flexraid webui says it has started and mounted V: but nothing will show up.  I tried re installing and I tried just remaking the pool and compute new parity files since when I tried the first time re using the old ones I had the same problem.  Whats going on?

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not showing up in windows after it starts up
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2013, 10:44:29 am »
Did you try a reboot?

Offline bmaffin13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not showing up in windows after it starts up
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2013, 01:27:01 am »
Multiple reboots and pool starts and stops.  Just got my purchase code so I'm going to put that in and try another reboot.  If that doesn't work I guess i will try remaking the pool again from scratch over night tonight.

Offline bmaffin13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not showing up in windows after it starts up
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2013, 11:42:20 pm »
OK so, this is what else I have tried:
-Uninstall Flexraid again and delete all visible sources of flexraid via windows explorer on all hd's including on the root of C:.  I couldn't acces the hidden c:/flexraidmount folder or whatever its called.  It said I didn't have administrator rights for that so I couldn't delete it. 
-Formatted both PPU's. 
-Reinstalled flexraid. 
-Made a new snapshot pool with my 6 DRU's and 1 PPU instead of the former 5 DRU's and 2 PPU's that I was trying before.

With reboots in between all that.  Is there something in the registry that would have hidden the pool from windows once the trial ran out that did not get undone after I bought and registered?  Or is there some file thats in the hidden Flexraid folder on C: that needs to be removed?

Offline bmaffin13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not showing up in windows after it starts up
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2013, 11:59:42 pm »
Found more info.  Is it possible that DriveBender is causing these issues?  I installed it after my trial ran out for another pool that I want to have some mirroring on.
Here is some log file info:

--------------- Storage Pool Start ---------------
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.671933][10452][Mounting Storage Pool]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.671933][10452][VM already acquired...]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.671933][10452][Setting handler...]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.671933][10452][Initializing IDs...]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.671934][10452][InitCommonIDs]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.671935][10452][InitCommonIDs] Done
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.671936][10452][InitWinIDs]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.672937][10452][InitWinIDs] Done
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.672937][10452][InitOSIDs]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.672938][10452][InitOSIDs] Done
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.672938][10452][Reading live options...]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.672938][10452][Reading user options...]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.672938][10452][Building security...]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.672938][10452][Building options...]
[2013-4-12 14:59:33.672938][10452][Class 1: Mounting...]
[2013-4-12 15:0:5.696015][10452]Mount error! Code=1359 Message=An internal error occurred.

If it is drivebender, is it not possible to have both?

PS. how can I make it so I don't have to do verification every time I post?  Its annoying :p

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: Storage pool not showing up in windows after it starts up
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2013, 03:01:30 am »
That was the last post that needs verification AFAIK (5)...
---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not showing up in windows after it starts up
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2013, 08:32:22 am »
Found more info.  Is it possible that DriveBender is causing these issues?  I installed it after my trial ran out for another pool that I want to have
If it is drivebender, is it not possible to have both?
...
PS. how can I make it so I don't have to do verification every time I post?  Its annoying :p

No, it is one or the other.

Offline bmaffin13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Storage pool not showing up in windows after it starts up
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2013, 12:56:56 pm »
I know you have said the next release will support more than one pool, so I'm curious if whether or not it can or will support mirroring?

If not, will it ever be possible to run both flexraid and a drivebender pool with mirroring?

Thanks