Author Topic: Good old unRAID community  (Read 2411 times)

Offline NLS

• Global Moderator
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Good old unRAID community
« on: May 06, 2013, 04:27:40 am »
Let me start by saying I am known for my harsh not-hide-behind-my-finger talk when what I say believe it's the truth. Straight is the shortest path if you ask me. Sorry this is what I am. This has given me a ban in this very forum in the past. Then when Brahim realized I am not a "commando" trying to infiltrate the camp (common practice as I've learned in my loooooong Internet/BBS past), recovered my status and actually even started listening to me (some times  ;D ).

Anyway why this "reverse intro". I recently visited unRAID site and forum (as I do periodically to check the status of the product as I am an old unRAID Pro customer - my stick lies somewhere in a closet).
Anyway, seems site was hacked and defaced (and checking their forum I even found out it was not the first time). That by itself is not something major (nowadays, where some just apply a stock install with a template), what is major is the reaction. Or lack of it. Seems Tom was the usual Tom. Took what... a couple of days to actually find the guy? Anyway things are ok now and I won't say more about the incident because what I wanted to say I DID say in their own forum. It's funny I even say "their" as I am also part of THAT community (once quite active too) and seeing how some people "mark their own and their enemies" (or piss their borders) is what makes me make this post.