Author Topic: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help  (Read 8525 times)

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« on: June 17, 2013, 06:55:37 am »
OK I (think I) successfully flashed my newly acquired IBM M1015 to LSI9211-8i in IT mode.

It was a bit difficult as I needed to find a motherboard that could see the card AND flash it.
The first I tried saw the card, but froze when trying to query the card before flashing.
Next motherboard was fine.Anyway I flashed it as seen here:
http://www.servethehome.com/ibm-serveraid-m1015-part-4/
and here:
http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/topic/29059-sas2008-lsi92409211-firmware-files/page-4

I used P16 release firmware.

Note #1: None of the two was the actual motherboard I would use the card on. The card that I want the card on is ECS P45T-A (V1.0).
http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Product/Product_Detail.aspx?DetailID=888&MenuID=16&LanID=0
On the first PCIe x16 slot I have the VGA card and on the second PCIe x16 slot I have the controller.

Note #2: I NEVER tried it as IBM M1015 with disks (my SFF-8087 to 2xSATA cables were on order).
Anyway I installed everything on my server, put the cables in, connected 8 of my drives (note that the drives where previously working already in that system, using two smaller "stupid" controllers). So, nothing wrong with the drives, or PSU etc.
Anyway long story short: Doesn't seem to see ANY of my drives. It shows 0 drives. Also I installed MSM in Windows, it does indeed see the card, but shows 0 drives.

What could be wrong?

Extra info. When booting, BIOS screen reports:
LSI MPT SAS2 BIOS
MPT2BIOS 7.31.00.00 (2013.02.28)
And, in the ctrl-c prompt if I PRESS ctrl-c it shows:
LSI Corporation MPT2 boot ROM successfully installed.
(briefly)
...then boots and actuallyu does NOT go to configuration.
If I do NOT press ctrl-c, instead it shows a table with this info:
PCI slot FF
Vendor LSISAS2008-IT
revision 16.00.00.00
size/nvdata 10:00:00:00:06
...and boots

Windows (SBS2011 which is 2008R2 kernel), does see the card, I even installed newest drivers, but again, no drives.

Give me some feedback please.

Could it be the cables?
These are the cables:
http://www.ebw.gr/el/product/46997/SAS-SFF-8087-36PIN-SE-4-SATA-7-PIN-0-5m
(bought two)

Please help me, I don't know what to do.

« Last Edit: June 17, 2013, 07:04:06 am by NLS »
---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2013, 07:49:49 am »
I searched around and found there are issues about a "forward" and a "reverse" version of the cable?
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1613862
The cable I bought above, I don't see any clear indication... Could that be the issue?

Here I found the only proper description of the cable by Digitus that I bought (page 35)...
http://www.services.assmann.com/download/data/catalogs/digitus-professional2009-2010/02_copper%20components_en.pdf

I am not sure what to try next.
Should I order different cables? (will take days)

Maybe something wrong with the card?
(sent from HK... will be tough to send back...)

I plan to flash back to M1015 original and check what happens.

---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline BobPhoenix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2013, 10:55:04 am »
With M1015 directly attached to SATA drives would need "Forward" breakout cables.  If you use the wrong ones they don't work.  I don't however remember the symtoms reported.  If you make sure you get the "Forward" type cables from a reputable source it should detect your drives.

"Reverse" breakout cables are designed to go from MB SATA ports to a backplane connector on some server cases like a Norco-4224 for instance.

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2013, 11:52:33 am »
This is what I believe is wrong (but will try flashing anyway).
The cables I got have no clear distrinction of being forward or reverse.

I read somewhere else that the symptom is exactly that: No disks detected.

I'll keep you posted.

Ordered LSI own brand, "forward" cables.
---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2013, 05:09:50 pm »
OK an update...

I flashed the card back to stock M1015 firmware (latest version).
NO disks detected again.

One thing I noticed is that (like in 9211-8i IT mode WITH mptsas2 bios installed), I cannot invoke configuration screen (ctrl-h for M1015, ctrl-c for 9211-8i), without failure, but doesn't start, just boots normally.

This means one of the following:

1) Something is wrong with the card. HOPE NOT.

2) Something cannot connect with invoking the card BIOS from my motherboard BIOS (seen that before with different unrelated hardware). I don't care as in IT mode I don't ever need the configuration screen

3) This card (in M1015 or 9211-8i IT mode) does not allow invoking the configuration screen if there is no disk detected/connected. (anybody care to try that?)

So... hoping it is not #1 above, I flashed back LSI 9211-8i IT mode and wait for LSI "forward" cables I ordered from Italy (CBL-SFF8087OCF-06M)... Hope this solves it (will post update).

WIll also contact the seller of the card today, that I plan to do one more test, else I will have to return it.
---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline MasterCATZ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2013, 11:10:06 pm »
I run these cards also

the cable's you seem to have seem like the right ones

I have my disks mounted in the fstab
then flexraid see's them
but thats  assuming linux distro ?

Currently I have 1x card thats running stock firmware but the rest are in IT mode and 90% confident I had flexraid working with only the IT mode cards before

of cause thats  assuming cards bios and mainboard bios see's the HDD's ?



with the card bios try powering down the pc and trying again for some reason doing soft-reboots it skips past the bios invoking

could also have something to do with bios cache or to many option ROM's running on your PC ??
try removing unneeded devices for configuring

I actually only had 1x pc here I can use to flash those cards .. the rest won't touch the bios so I live with IT only mode :P
actually impressed that HDD standby has finally been added into the mpt driver


*edit * just noticed win 2008 r2 being used .. sorry I can not help you their 

depending on how nitty gritty your want to go with the flashing I guess i could did up my tech notes / flash files .. its on a thumb-drive somewhere ...
« Last Edit: June 17, 2013, 11:30:29 pm by MasterCATZ »

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2013, 02:19:05 am »
Card BIOS (any of the two IBM or LSI versions) do not see the disks and (of course) PC BIOS also doesn't see them.

I want to believe it's the cables.

I have tried several reboots.

Card itself is detected fine both in BIOS (as it calls it's boot screen) and in Windows (as it is detected fine, just doesn't have any disks attached).

I know about the issue with BIOS cache or many option ROMs (mentioned it above remember), but I don't think it affects me. First of all because I don't have anything else on the PC (removed the other controllers) and second because I don't need the BOOT ROM just the controller part (I could very well not flash mptsas2 at all in IT mode).

I am waiting for new cables today or tomorrow and try to return the current ones (I want to be sure). I will also inform the guy in Hong Kong about the card to check my options.

We'll see.

Right now I would say my stats feel like:
- 50% cables issue. (hope so)
- 30% incompatibility issue with mobo. (painful... was not in my immediate plans to change it)
- 20% card problem. (again painful as it came from HK so any swap or whatever, will cost)

---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline MasterCATZ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2013, 12:30:19 pm »
another thing what HDD's are they ?

I know their was a firmware upgrade needed for higher then 3Tb

I use Western Digital on mine

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,485
  • Karma: +201/-16
    • View Profile
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2013, 12:42:53 pm »
AFAIK, he has a pretty good mix of drive sizes (from 500GB to 3TB) and none of them showed up.

Someone should pre-flash these cards, bundle them with cables, and sell them on ebay.

Offline BobPhoenix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2013, 01:23:52 pm »
Maybe I'm just lucky but I have 6 of them all flashed to IT mode (older firmware - P11) all working fine with up to 3TB drives.  Never heard the problem with >3TB drives before but is certainly possible.  I have/had them working on the following MBs: Tyan S5512GM2NR, Tyan S5512GM4NR, SuperMicro X9SCM-F, Intel DH77EB, SuperMicro C2SBA+II (where I flashed them from DOS boot USB), ASUS P5Q-EM (very briefly never tested the drives that were connected but they were recognized).

Edit: adjusted post as left out important detail
« Last Edit: June 18, 2013, 01:42:58 pm by BobPhoenix »

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2013, 01:36:51 pm »
AFAIK, he has a pretty good mix of drive sizes (from 500GB to 3TB) and none of them showed up.

Someone should pre-flash these cards, bundle them with cables, and sell them on ebay.


Read: ...so he can buy a few.

Actually I still think it is pretty easy.

The problem is unrelated to 3TB disks. There are 2x3TB but the other six disks are smaller.

Original cables sent back and got my money back. Contacted HK seller that card COULD be problematic. Waiting for new cables tomorrow or Thursday. Wish me luck.
---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,485
  • Karma: +201/-16
    • View Profile
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2013, 01:51:49 pm »
Read: ...so he can buy a few.

... so, we can all buy a few. :D

Offline bomberjim

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2013, 11:31:21 pm »
AFAIK, he has a pretty good mix of drive sizes (from 500GB to 3TB) and none of them showed up.

Someone should pre-flash these cards, bundle them with cables, and sell them on ebay.

There have been several sellers who have done just that - sadly they don't seem to last long.  They probably don't have a dependable source for the cards.

Cheapest place to the cables is Monoprice.com.  Somewhere around $10 each.

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #13 on: June 19, 2013, 06:53:34 am »
OK I have the final update and case close for this:

It was the cables.
I just received LSI's own "forward" cables and yes, the controller detects the drives AND my motherboard BIOS also does (if I needed to boot from them - which I don't).

Thank you all for your support.



Ah... moral of the story: Do NOT get the Digitus cables for this controller.

« Last Edit: June 19, 2013, 06:55:11 am by NLS »
---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline facke02

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: M1015 to 9211-IT ...no disks detected - please help
« Reply #14 on: July 01, 2013, 02:52:05 pm »
Monoprice has a cable that works great with the M1015 cards.
Ken