Author Topic: Improvement: Display the actual Throughput for aborted tasks  (Read 1104 times)

Offline vletroye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
When I abort a task (initialization, sync verify, etc...), the Throughput displayed in the "tasks status" is not the actual one. The task is indeed assumed to be fully completed, i.e.: The throughput is computed as "total size"/"elapsed time", instead of taking the "size really processed"/"time elapsed before aborting"...

Any way for you to display the actual Throughput for aborted tasks ?

V.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Improvement: Display the actual Throughput for aborted tasks
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2013, 07:49:21 am »
Agreed.
However, this change will require a lot of work.
We should move this to Mantis to be done much later.

Offline vletroye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Improvement: Display the actual Throughput for aborted tasks
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2013, 09:29:32 am »
If not done when I am back from holidays, I will report it via Mantis.

A possibly easy/dirty trick (?) could be for the Web Client Service to keep the last Throughput value and display that one for aborted tasks (But I am trying here to guess your technical design).

V.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Improvement: Display the actual Throughput for aborted tasks
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2013, 01:08:44 pm »
It is an over engineered feature as it deals with 4 layers (kernel, broker, UI service, and then UI).  :-[
So, even the quick hack is more work than I want to tackle right now.