Author Topic: Pool setup... now what?  (Read 1652 times)

Offline verti89

• View Profile
Pool setup... now what?
« on: August 12, 2013, 09:09:47 am »
I am using Ubuntu as the OS on my media server. I have the storage pool setup and working. Now I am trying to actually move some files from my main PC (windows 7) over to the media server pool and am not really sure what to do. I can see the windows files fine on the Ubuntu machine, but I get an error (at work and cant remember specific error), but I am pretty sure google can help me with this one. The bigger issues are that I can't seem to create a shared folder on the pool, and I can't seem to find the ubuntu machine on my network at all while on my main PC. I know I am a noob, and I am not sure that this is even the right place for either of these issues, but hopefully you can point me in the right direction.

Offline mdmangus

• View Profile
Re: Pool setup... now what?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2013, 10:52:02 pm »
Verti89,

I was wondering myself, but with digging I got things going.  The windows has much more information on setting up vs the Linux side.  I like what I see and myself plan to dump WIndows 2008 R2 and stick with Ubuntu after I test further.

For me when pool started it created the following Map Point
/root/FlexRAID_POOL

For some reason it was owned by Root only.  I had change change its ownership and permissions so I could get access.

Another article I found on granting access to others was on the wiki:
http://wiki.flexraid.com/2011/06/01/linux-granting-storage-pool-access-to-root-and-other-users/

You need to setup Samba to share your POOL over the network.

I am using Ubuntu Desktop 12.04 and didn't feel like configuring the samba config directly and went the GUI route from this online post:
http://www.unixmen.com/howto-install-and-configure-samba-share-in-ubuntu/

With that I am able to log-in from my Windows 8 and Mac's to the Shares I created pointed to the folder's on the pool.