Author Topic: "Expansion" task's status window  (Read 1323 times)

Offline vletroye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
"Expansion" task's status window
« on: October 30, 2013, 01:41:04 am »
When one does a tRaid Expansion, the title of the task is "Prepare RAID Disk"



But for a tRAID Contraction task, it's adequately named "RAID Contraction"



Similarly, the tasks' name for "Create RAID Parity" or "Verify Sync RAID" match the process type.


"Prepare RAID Disk" is not very meaningful for a end-user.
I was expecting to see a title tightly coupled to the name of the task I run...

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: "Expansion" task's status window
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2013, 08:46:05 am »
Did you choose to erase the disk and then expand with it?
Will look into it a bit later.

Offline vletroye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: "Expansion" task's status window
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2013, 11:59:46 am »
I have right-clicked on a placeholder to expand. Then I have been prompted to erase the disk or keep the data. I chose to erase the disk. I understand now that this is making a difference. But to make clear that one did an expansion, names like "expansion with empty disk" and "expansion with new data" would maybe be better?!

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: "Expansion" task's status window
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2013, 12:27:52 pm »
Yeah, you are right. Fixed. :)