Author Topic: Support for OpenMediaVault  (Read 50908 times)

Offline flaca

• View Profile
Re: Support for OpenMediaVault
« Reply #15 on: April 03, 2012, 03:15:50 am »
This is fantastic news, just seen the thread on the OMV forum. Well done beut and thanks to Brahim.

I'm going to give this a go. Beut, could I ask a big favour? I'm a linux noob, though learning fast. I understand the concepts in your instructions from my DOS days but I don't know the linux commands. There are a couple of steps in your instructions that I'm not sure about. If you have time, could you write the linux commands to achieve each step in your instructions? If you don't have time, I'll work it out I think, but it would really help.

Also, a really dumb question, which download files do I need (e.g. CLI only Linux file?) and how do you get the Flexraid GUI to display? I've installed Xming and can get other server-side GUIs to display fine on my PC, but not sure how to invoke Flexraid GUI.

I've put comments against your instructions below in red caps.

- create a new user in OpenMediaVault for FlexRAID JUST THROUGH OMV GUI I PRESUME
- install default-jre USING APT-GET INSTALL OR APTITUDE?
- install fuse-utils
- install ia32-libs
- made /home/"username"/flexraid directory and chmod o+w on it I THINK I GET THIS, MKDIR [DIRECTORY NAME] THEN CHMOD [DIRECTORY NAME] o+w?
- add "username" to fuse group NOW I'M STUCK!
- uncomment "user_allow_other" in /etc/fuse.conf NANO /ETC/FUSE.CONF AND REMOVE # BEFORE USER_ALLOW_OTHER?
- make executable and run Flexraid.bin in  /home/"username"/flexraid STUCK AGAIN, HELP PLEASE
- chmod o=rx on  /home/"username"/flexraid CHMOD [DIRECTORY NAME] o=rx?
- cd /home/"username"/flexraid and type ./FlexRAID EASY

Cheers,
Scott
« Last Edit: April 04, 2012, 01:58:18 pm by flaca »

Offline flaca

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: April 04, 2012, 02:15:11 pm »