Author Topic: resume failed create but it just says "running"  (Read 2268 times)

Offline gojirasan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
resume failed create but it just says "running"
« on: November 18, 2013, 04:49:14 pm »
I was about 26 hours into a 50 hour estimated create and I had to reboot. So I used "abort" and then when it finished I rebooted and then hit "resume failed create". The gui just says "running" with no other feedback as to whether anything is actually going on. "Create", "Resume Failed Create", and "Re-Create" buttons all seem to be pressable. Is this what is supposed to happen? Is my create being resumed from somewhere around 26 hours in? Is there any way I can check to see if anything is actually happening?

Offline gojirasan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: resume failed create but it just says "running"
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2013, 05:34:04 pm »
Ruh roh. After "running" for a while the whole window just closed down. I mean the small window with the name of the configuration in the title bar. That just disappeared on its own. I'm just guessing here but it looks like "running" status doesn't mean anything is really happening. If this software had any real documentation maybe I would know whether re-Create will just overwrite all existing parity data or not. "Resume Failed Create" clearly isn't doing what I thought it would.

Offline mark_anderson_us

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: resume failed create but it just says "running"
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2013, 03:30:19 pm »
I have exactly same. Just paid for license, deleted my test config and added all my drives. Got an error during init:

[2013-11-24 14:57:43,628] ERROR: Invalid state - Unexpected EOF on C:\FlexRAID-Managed-Pool\class1_0\{7a2ec377-3c56-47ba-9ded-2f0fbb7efdcc}\Movies\Skyfall\Skyfall.iso
java.io.IOException: Invalid state - Unexpected EOF on C:\FlexRAID-Managed-Pool\class1_0\{7a2ec377-3c56-47ba-9ded-2f0fbb7efdcc}\Movies\Skyfall\Skyfall.iso
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
[2013-11-24 14:57:43,645] WARN : Incomplete - C:\FlexRAID-Managed-Pool\class1_0\{7a2ec377-3c56-47ba-9ded-2f0fbb7efdcc}\Movies\Skyfall\Skyfall.iso - size:49217011712 read:2146945536
[2013-11-24 14:57:43,645] WARN : Incomplete - C:\FlexRAID-Managed-Pool\class1_0\{64421fd0-4a46-11e3-8271-74d02bc6b8bf}\Video\Lawrence of Arabia.Title7.mkv - size:41520881329 read:725301072
[2013-11-24 14:57:43,645] WARN : Incomplete - C:\FlexRAID-Managed-Pool\class1_0\{93c7127b-3c60-4ba1-b306-60d57519864c}\000295.flxr - size:1073741824 written:342884352
[2013-11-24 14:57:44,797] WARN : Operation is being aborted... re-validating last processed entries...
[2013-11-24 14:57:46,048] INFO : [create] completed at: Sun Nov 24 14:57:46 CST 2013
[2013-11-24 14:57:50,023] INFO : Sending email alert - message=[MediaConfig][CREATE] FAILURE
[2013-11-24 14:57:51,603] INFO : Sending SMS notification message=[MediaConfig][CREATE] FAILURE / To=3125764332

Now I have same: Running... and nothing else

Last log entry is

[2013-11-24 15:22:56,188] INFO : Mounting Storage Pool drive...
[2013-11-24 15:23:03,694] WARN : Active Storage Pool initialization failure... aborting!
[2013-11-24 15:23:03,694] ERROR: Storage Pool handler initialization failure!
java.io.IOException: Storage Pool handler initialization failure!
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
[2013-11-24 15:23:44,534] WARN : /gwt/rpc
java.lang.RuntimeException: Login exception: unauthenticated user!
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Void.<unknown>(Unknown Source)

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: resume failed create but it just says "running"
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2013, 06:26:13 pm »
You can only resume an initialization if you aborted it as opposed of it it failed.
The " Unexpected EOF" is typical of disk timing out or dropping off. Look at the Windows event viewer for potential clues.

Offline mark_anderson_us

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: resume failed create but it just says "running"
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2013, 07:20:28 pm »
Thanks for reply Brahim

How can I restart? only option is resume

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: resume failed create but it just says "running"
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2013, 07:30:35 pm »
Re-create the parity. Look in the Toolbox section.

Offline mark_anderson_us

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: resume failed create but it just says "running"
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2013, 06:49:40 am »
Stuck on this AGAIN

Toolbox is disabled. Only option I have is resume. This sucks

Offline Quaraxkad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
  • Karma: +24/-1
    • View Profile
Re: resume failed create but it just says "running"
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2013, 11:03:16 am »
One of your disks has a problem. You should work on that issue before you try creating the array. Try moving Skyfall.iso off that drive an onto another, it will probably fail. There's a bad sector on your hard drive that's likely corrupted that file. Once you get that sorted out, you can create the array without failures.

Offline mark_anderson_us

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: resume failed create but it just says "running"
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2013, 04:09:55 pm »
One of your disks has a problem. You should work on that issue before you try creating the array. Try moving Skyfall.iso off that drive an onto another, it will probably fail. There's a bad sector on your hard drive that's likely corrupted that file. Once you get that sorted out, you can create the array without failures.

No problems with disks. they're all new and I run stablebit scanner. It worked when I recreated

Offline Quaraxkad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
  • Karma: +24/-1
    • View Profile
Re: resume failed create but it just says "running"
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2013, 06:36:41 pm »
No problems with disks. they're all new and I run stablebit scanner. It worked when I recreated

Don't assume, confirm:

Try moving Skyfall.iso off that drive an onto another, it will probably fail.