Poll

Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?

XP
3 (0.9%)
XP x64
0 (0%)
Vista
1 (0.3%)
Vista x64
1 (0.3%)
Windows 7
20 (6.1%)
Windows 7 x64
82 (25.2%)
Windows Server 2003
2 (0.6%)
Windows Server 2003 x64
1 (0.3%)
Windows Server 2008
1 (0.3%)
Windows Server 2008 x64
3 (0.9%)
Windows Server 2008 R2
44 (13.5%)
Windows Home Server  v1
4 (1.2%)
Windows Home Server 2011
61 (18.7%)
Windows SBS 2011
3 (0.9%)
Linux
47 (14.4%)
Other (report below)
3 (0.9%)
Windows 8
20 (6.1%)
Windows Server 2012 Foundation
0 (0%)
Windows Server 2012 Essentials
8 (2.5%)
Windows Server 2012 Standard
22 (6.7%)

Total Members Voted: 325

Author Topic: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?  (Read 17107 times)

Offline m0t0k0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« on: December 14, 2011, 06:59:07 am »

Just Curious which OS FlexRAID is being run on?

If I missed any out let me know

Linux users I know there are a huge number of Distros so if you want to list some or get me to add the one your using let me know.
WHS 2011
Transparent RAID

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2011, 07:01:50 am »
Interesting choice of... erm choices.
No Vista, no Windows 2008 Server, no 2003 Server...

I think also the distinction between x86 and x64 is very important.

I don't think we have enough poll entries.

---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline m0t0k0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2011, 07:13:59 am »

Ah Vista had conveniently forgotten that one

How are my entries now? Never been aware with the server editions of Windows do any of them come with a choice of 32 or 64 bit?
WHS 2011
Transparent RAID

Offline webs0r

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Karma: +4/-1
  • Hello, world.
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2011, 07:18:03 am »
How to vote?
FlexRAID expert/snapshot RAID/Storage Pool mode
Windows Server 2008 R2, 23 TB pool, Array1: 3TB redundancy, Array 2: 4TB redundancy, 11 drives total

Offline m0t0k0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2011, 07:24:32 am »

Had to lock the poll quickly as I moved the entries around. Should be ok now
WHS 2011
Transparent RAID

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2011, 07:53:05 am »
Ah Vista had conveniently forgotten that one

How are my entries now? Never been aware with the server editions of Windows do any of them come with a choice of 32 or 64 bit?

I'd say they are mostly ok now.
2003 Srv was in x86 and x64 flavors and IIRC 2008 (R1) too.
XP x64 I'd say pretty rare (although I did have this once). x64 support sucked back then.
Linux (if different distros matter too much - I doubt) can have a separate poll. One entry enough in this poll.
---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2011, 07:54:48 am »
Had to lock the poll quickly as I moved the entries around. Should be ok now

You actually moved them around? Doesn't look you make a good job in that. :D No offence. No real logic in your shorting. But this is minor anyway.
---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,541
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2011, 08:02:54 am »
I say W2k3 rules for ever!  ;D
All my "serious" envs are XP/W2k3 based. I have W2k3 VMs running on less than 80MB of RAM.
The Win7 line (specially W2k8) is too much of a resource hog if you care about VM density per box.


Offline m0t0k0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2011, 08:03:59 am »
You actually moved them around? Doesn't look you make a good job in that. :D No offence. No real logic in your shorting. But this is minor anyway.

I tried to sort them but it seems I can move the entry name but not the vote. So I sorted them best I could keeping the exisiting votes where they were
WHS 2011
Transparent RAID

Offline m0t0k0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2011, 08:11:58 am »

OK all updated and moved around now
Had to reset poll count or it would of messed the figures up, So you need to vote again

This list may not be exhaustive but has a very wide scope, If you still don't feel represented then let me know before you vote and I will add an option for you
WHS 2011
Transparent RAID

Offline bob_raid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2011, 10:21:49 pm »
you could always dd an "other" options and then ask the member to post the OS they use as a reply.

For mods/admin/Brahim to get an idea of the general OS usage sorting through the replys for the exceptions will not be that hard, better than losing votes due to poll resets.

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2011, 01:10:03 am »
done
---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline m0t0k0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2011, 02:50:47 am »

I was thinking more along the lines that someone could ask for their OS to be added and then vote
WHS 2011
Transparent RAID

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2011, 04:52:39 am »
Well we cannot have 30 choices there.

---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline m0t0k0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #14 on: December 19, 2011, 04:27:32 am »

Can a mod make this a sticky so it don't get lost?
WHS 2011
Transparent RAID