Poll

Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?

XP
3 (0.9%)
XP x64
0 (0%)
Vista
1 (0.3%)
Vista x64
1 (0.3%)
Windows 7
20 (6.1%)
Windows 7 x64
82 (25.2%)
Windows Server 2003
2 (0.6%)
Windows Server 2003 x64
1 (0.3%)
Windows Server 2008
1 (0.3%)
Windows Server 2008 x64
3 (0.9%)
Windows Server 2008 R2
44 (13.5%)
Windows Home Server  v1
4 (1.2%)
Windows Home Server 2011
61 (18.7%)
Windows SBS 2011
3 (0.9%)
Linux
47 (14.4%)
Other (report below)
3 (0.9%)
Windows 8
20 (6.1%)
Windows Server 2012 Foundation
0 (0%)
Windows Server 2012 Essentials
8 (2.5%)
Windows Server 2012 Standard
22 (6.7%)

Total Members Voted: 325

Author Topic: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?  (Read 19669 times)

Offline 580guy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #15 on: December 20, 2011, 03:51:07 pm »
Interesting choice of... erm choices.
No Vista, no Windows 2008 Server, no 2003 Server...

I think also the distinction between x86 and x64 is very important.

I don't think we have enough poll entries.

Running on WHS V1 (Almost 2003 Server!).  Just using Snapshot Raid for now. Once RT and expert mode get cleared, will be thinking about moving to WHS 2011.
Lenovo TS-440 13x2TB 1XSSD | Sans Digital TR5M-B eSATA 5 x 2TB | MediaSonic HF2-SU2S2 eSATA 4 x 2TB | WHS 2011 |Stablebit Drivepool |Stablebit Scanner| FlexRAID 2.0 Snapshot RAID|

Offline Team503

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2011, 09:13:02 pm »
2003 R2 Enterprise.

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #17 on: December 31, 2011, 02:47:03 am »
2003 R2 Enterprise can easily fit 2003 Server.

Exactly same kernel build (also WHS v1 - but this needs separate mention because of all the other major differences).
---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline b-earl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 652
  • Karma: +13/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #18 on: January 05, 2012, 06:26:21 am »
Voted Linux, but to be more specific -> Running it on Linux Mint 12 "Lisa" 64 bit.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2012, 06:43:43 am by b-earl »
Server HW: Chenbro RM41416 case | Supermicro X10SLM-F + LSI SAS 9305-16i | Xeon E3-1231 v3 | 16 GB DDR3 ECC Ram
Server OS:   Windows Server 2016 (UEFI) on 250 GB Samsung 850 Evo ssd
Transparent RAID 1.1.0 2017.02.11
Backupserver: Supermicro X9SCM-F UEFI + LSI SAS9211-8i IT FW
Server OS: Win 2016

Offline spiffyp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #19 on: January 06, 2012, 09:55:42 am »
Also voted Linux, specifically Ubuntu Server 10.04 i386.

Offline grsnow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #20 on: January 10, 2012, 11:43:14 am »
I say W2k3 rules for ever!  ;D
All my "serious" envs are XP/W2k3 based. I have W2k3 VMs running on less than 80MB of RAM.
The Win7 line (specially W2k8) is too much of a resource hog if you care about VM density per box.

How are you getting W2k3 running in only 80meg?

Gary

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2012, 12:30:30 pm »
How are you getting W2k3 running in only 80meg?

Gary
Custom trimmed install. ;)

Offline b-earl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 652
  • Karma: +13/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #22 on: February 14, 2012, 03:21:53 am »
I now have Flexraid installed on my Linux Mint 12 Fileserver and also on my Mailserver that runs on Windows Server 2008 R2.

Claes
Server HW: Chenbro RM41416 case | Supermicro X10SLM-F + LSI SAS 9305-16i | Xeon E3-1231 v3 | 16 GB DDR3 ECC Ram
Server OS:   Windows Server 2016 (UEFI) on 250 GB Samsung 850 Evo ssd
Transparent RAID 1.1.0 2017.02.11
Backupserver: Supermicro X9SCM-F UEFI + LSI SAS9211-8i IT FW
Server OS: Win 2016

Offline polargeek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #23 on: April 04, 2012, 12:05:35 am »
Storage Server 2008 R2 Essentials

Offline hellbringer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #24 on: May 21, 2012, 04:42:00 pm »
Moved from Slackware (unRAID) to unRAID in ESXi with RAW device mapping (along with Plex and the downloading apps in a Ubuntu VM) to FlexRAID with RAW device mapping on Windows 2008, not a great upgrade path I would advise anyone, I assure you.  :-X
No offense but Linux Slackware is *dead* and to be running Plex, SABnzb, Transmission, Couchpotato, Sickbeard, Spotweb, Crashplan etc, etc and of course file serving of 15 drives while keeping 3 servers up-to-date is a pain.
So back to the drawing board: Windows server 2008 R2 bare metal it is. Great to have a real OS again, with direct hardware access and no more apt-get'ing, installpkg'ing or editing text files to getting anything done.

Now where was I..... ah yes installing Windows updates, time for another reboot...ARGH ;)
« Last Edit: May 21, 2012, 04:44:57 pm by hellbringer »

Offline Lenaxia

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #25 on: September 10, 2012, 06:45:52 pm »
If you can edit the poll you probably should add Windows 8 now. I've been running it on Win8 for a while now without issue.

Offline m0t0k0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #26 on: September 11, 2012, 01:48:03 am »

Ok poll updated.

I thought there was a problem with W8 of copying files out of the pool?
WHS 2011
Transparent RAID

Offline neural

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #27 on: January 05, 2013, 02:08:05 pm »
Windows Server 2012 Data Center and 2012 Standard - both working

Offline Jerremy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #28 on: April 03, 2013, 02:53:28 pm »
I was running on Windows 2012 but switched to Windows 2008 , and now I'm happy :)

I've had Windows 2012 reboot on me a couple of times due to weird errors, and I've had no reboot with Windows 2008 yet.

Offline neural

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Which OS are you running FlexRAID on?
« Reply #29 on: May 21, 2013, 08:02:48 pm »
MSFT Windows 2013 DC, as Host
Windows 2013 Standard as Guest (with FlexRaid)