Author Topic: Localhost:8080 down? Can't access flexraid...  (Read 4539 times)

Offline emm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Localhost:8080 down? Can't access flexraid...
« on: December 17, 2011, 11:03:09 am »
Couldn't find an answer to this - Sorry if I missed it elsewhere.  I cannot access the FlexRAID interface either at http://localhost:8080 or http://http://localhost:8080/?locale=en_US.  I am in the USA.  I get a browser message saying it could not connect to that address.  I use Google Chrome and have been successful before - in fact this is the browser I used when I set up my snapshot RAID in the first place and it's worked perfectly for weeks up until today.  I also tried IE9 today and it could not connect either.

Please help.  Thanks.

Offline naeonline

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localhost:8080 down? Can't access flexraid...
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2011, 11:10:08 am »
Make sure the FlexRaid service is running.

Offline emm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localhost:8080 down? Can't access flexraid...
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2011, 12:21:49 pm »
How do i do that?

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: Localhost:8080 down? Can't access flexraid...
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2011, 12:23:39 pm »
Erm... go to "Services"?
Many ways to go.
Like right click "Computer" and select "Manage" then find "Services" in the tree...

Actually if you don't know that, maybe just maybe FlexRAID is not (yet) for you.


---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline emm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localhost:8080 down? Can't access flexraid...
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2011, 03:36:33 pm »
I think with a little more help I can be a successful FlexRAID user.  I see the problem I'm having in a few other forum posts but no solution.  I am running FlexRAID Preview XII, installed just a month or so ago.

I followed the instructions and found FlexRAID in my computer's services list.  I right-clicked to bring up the shortcut menu and selected "Start" several times.  I get an error that says "Error 1067:  The process terminated unexpectedly."  A few notes;

1. I have been successfully using FlexRAID for several weeks, accessing localhost:8080 with no problems until today.
2. I have not added any firewalls or anti-virus programs since that time which might block my access

Your help is appreciated.  Thanks.

Offline NLS

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,018
  • Karma: +29/-4
  • Look ma, no hands!
    • View Profile
    • iLogic
Re: Localhost:8080 down? Can't access flexraid...
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2011, 04:01:26 pm »
Firewalls cannot block localhost anyway.

Preview XII is not supported any more.
Get the latest beta.

---
NLS
Production system: SBS2011 fully patched, intel Core2 Quad, 8GB, 12 disks (1 system IDE, 1 backup IDE, 10 for array and parity most SATA3), parity is 3TB, largest data disk is 3TB, millions of smaller files, common browser Chrome latest.

Offline emm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localhost:8080 down? Can't access flexraid...
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2011, 04:26:10 pm »
Success!  Thanks for your help.  I installed the latest version and can access it once again. 

Offline fishytheuppity

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localhost:8080 down? Can't access flexraid...
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2012, 03:38:36 pm »
I ran into something similar when an unknown(to me so far) error dismounted my flexraid and stopped the service (or vice versa).  I was able to restart by re-running the start service batch file, but you must run it as administrator or it will just flash up and go away.