Author Topic: My first flexRaid server  (Read 2176 times)

Offline Bigtruck747

• View Profile
My first flexRaid server
« on: December 22, 2014, 11:39:10 am »
** Fair warning, this is a long post with a few questions.  So thanks to all who offer help and advice!!*

A friend just told me about flexRaid a couple days ago and I'm making plans to re-purpose my one computer to be a media server for my family.  It has a Kingston 120GB SSD running OS windows 7 professional and two WD Green 2TB drives for storage.  My thought is to add one more mechanical drive for parity and then down load and configure flexRaid.

I am a complete newbie to all of this so I was very happy to find all of the helpful advice in the flexRaid wiki and forums.  From what I can gather, a transparent Raid might be the product I'm looking for.

What is the proper amount of parity drives to storage drives?  My first thought was to go with another WD Green for my parity drive, but after reading the thread  Hard Drive recommendation for Transparent RAID users http://forum.flexraid.com/index.php/topic,3111.0.html, I'm starting to think I should use a different drive for parity.  I'm sorta partial to Western Digital, but if a Seagate Barracuda would make the best parity drive for me … then that would be the direction I would go.

I also have a question two programs I want to run on my flexRaid server.  Plex for all my pictures, videos, and music.  And ownCloud for all of my documents.  Has anyone heard of any of these programs not working well together, or should I maybe consider two boxes?  Meaning flexRaid + Plex media in one box/server, and flexRaid + ownCloud in a separate box???