Author Topic: Second Storage Pool Not Possible?  (Read 795 times)

Offline mystik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Second Storage Pool Not Possible?
« on: June 08, 2016, 07:12:29 pm »
I have a RAID-F expert mode configuration now.  I have a lot of spare disks laying around (but not enough enclosures to mount them all).  I was thinking about using the one additional enclosure I have (from before I moved into my 8-bay) to serve as a backup.  I know it sounds crazy since I have two PPUs, but still...I worry what if the restore does not work.  :D  So, I was thinking about making a second pool.  I think everything will fit if I don't have a PPU on there.  Since my plan is to only copy the stuff on there periodically and not actually keep the unit on all the time like my main unit, I figured it should last longer and be a reliable backup.  I couldn't seem to figure out how to do what I wanted, though.  When I go to add a new configuration, Storage Pool Only is disabled.  Am I only able to have one storage pool?  Thank you. 

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Second Storage Pool Not Possible?
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2016, 07:37:36 pm »
Only tRAID allows you to create multiple storage pools. RAID-F is still limited to one. This will change in future releases.

Offline mystik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Second Storage Pool Not Possible?
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2016, 04:11:49 pm »
Alright.  Thanks for the info.  Hope that will be possible soon.  :)