Author Topic: Dynamic disk or basic disk?  (Read 196 times)

Offline ibra0078

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Dynamic disk or basic disk?
« on: March 13, 2017, 05:25:08 pm »
Just added another 3tb to my pool but notice the other 3 DRU are dynamic disk and this one is basic. Any benefits of converting it to dynamic? I assume at one point I converted the others

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: March 13, 2017, 08:11:02 pm by ibra0078 »

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,332
  • Karma: +199/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Dynamic disk or basic disk?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2017, 11:00:03 am »
You want the disks to be basic. Dynamic features simply don't apply here. So, you are getting all the risks associated with dynamic disks but none of the rewards.

Offline ibra0078

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Dynamic disk or basic disk?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 08:03:12 pm »
Okay, do you recommend formating the drives to convert it to basic or use a 3rd party software to convert the disk without formatting them.

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk


Offline adridolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dynamic disk or basic disk?
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2017, 06:47:30 am »
I personally would never "convert" a disk instead of correctly formatting it unless you are really forced to do so.