Author Topic: Time for expanding a tRaid  (Read 333 times)

Offline Squazz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Time for expanding a tRaid
« on: April 30, 2017, 12:17:55 pm »
Adding an empty 2TB WD Green took me 10 hours.
Can it be true that added an empty drive should take that long?

I'm in the process of moving from my Netgear ReadyNAS to a Windows Server with FlexRaid.
After moving all of the files, I will have to add 4x3Tb WD Reds to the storage pool.
With this rate, just adding the drives will take me about 60 hours.
I found this question about that too: http://forum.flexraid.com/index.php/topic,3836.msg25143.html#msg25143, but I'm, sure I understand the answer

Futhermore, is it in any way possiple to add an another PPU? Or will you have to know the amount of PPUs from get-go?
The folloing have asked the same, no answer :/
- http://forum.flexraid.com/index.php/topic,2009.msg14008.html#msg14008
- http://forum.flexraid.com/index.php/topic,49230.msg77232.html#msg77232
- http://forum.flexraid.com/index.php/topic,48843.msg75784.html#msg75784

My specs for the hardware is
Intel i7 2600K
4x1Gb ram
Asus ROG Maximus IV motherboard
« Last Edit: April 30, 2017, 12:23:37 pm by Squazz »

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,385
  • Karma: +201/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Time for expanding a tRaid
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2017, 02:48:24 pm »
When expanding, you have several options. One of them is to zero the disk and then add it. That's the fastest.
With the other option, it makes no difference whether the disk is empty or filled with data. The process will take just as long.

To add a PPU, you will need to delete the RAID configuration and create a new one with the desired options.

Offline Squazz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Time for expanding a tRaid
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2017, 05:00:52 pm »
How would one go around zeroing the disk? I thought that was what I was doing, but it doesn't sound like it

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,385
  • Karma: +201/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Time for expanding a tRaid
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2017, 06:59:19 pm »
The options are presented to you when choosing to expand. They are also well documented on the wiki: http://wiki.flexraid.com/2013/06/27/raid-expansion-in-transparent-raid/

Offline adridolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Time for expanding a tRaid
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2017, 09:02:59 am »
If you are not afraid of losing parity in between, you could just put all the individual disks together and configure a fresh/new array. Here, you would only have to do a Verify/Sync once (10-20 hours).

I personally want to keep parity all the time. Within this limitation, I typically use the zero-out option (10-20 hours per disk), as it will create stress to the newly added device, and not to the parity which is stressed a lot during all other writes.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,385
  • Karma: +201/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Time for expanding a tRaid
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2017, 09:56:41 am »
...
I personally want to keep parity all the time. Within this limitation, I typically use the zero-out option (10-20 hours per disk), as it will create stress to the newly added device, and not to the parity which is stressed a lot during all other writes.
+1 :)