Author Topic: "No files to restore" when swapping out failed drive  (Read 66 times)

Offline weedenbc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
"No files to restore" when swapping out failed drive
« on: May 17, 2017, 06:20:44 pm »
I have a Snapshot raid array I set up using Cruise Control, and I'm having a problem replacing a failed drive.

I had a "click of death" type error with DRU4. I removed the bad drive, installed a new drive, formatted it, and then assigned it to drive letter R:\.

I then opened up the array config, went to "Drive Manager," clicked on DRU4, and clicked "Restore/swap out". I selected the first option for "Swap out the drives first, and then restore to the new drive," pointed it to R:\, and clicked go. It unmounted the array, ran for a few minutes, and then popped up a message that there was no data to restore. Drive Manager now shows all the DRUs as healthy, but there are zero files on the new DRU4. Here's the logfile:

Code: [Select]
[2017-05-17 19:13:36,127] INFO : Executing restore...
[2017-05-17 19:13:36,157] INFO : [restore] started at: Wed May 17 19:13:36 EDT 2017
[2017-05-17 19:13:40,951] INFO : Using RAID engine Tx
[2017-05-17 19:13:40,951] INFO : Preparing to restore DRU4
[2017-05-17 19:13:40,951] INFO : Will restore to original paths
[2017-05-17 19:13:40,951] WARN : Full pre-validation on restore has been disabled! - No attempt to recover from data rot will be made...
[2017-05-17 19:19:39,165] INFO : There are no files to recover! Exiting...
[2017-05-17 19:19:39,203] INFO : [restore] completed at: Wed May 17 19:19:39 EDT 2017

Did I miss a step somewhere?

The array did auto-update with the missing DRU4 the night before, before I had a chance to catch it (I had pulled the bad drive to see if I could revive it but had not yet swapped in the new one). Did that "wipe' the missing DRU's data from the parity?

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,303
  • Karma: +199/-15
    • View Profile
Re: "No files to restore" when swapping out failed drive
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2017, 05:48:15 pm »
Please post the full logs.
Details on what the Update task did are important.

Offline weedenbc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: "No files to restore" when swapping out failed drive
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2017, 01:00:16 pm »
Below is attached the logfile for the last several days, which includes a few days before and after the restore attempt.

Or did you mean a different log file?

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,303
  • Karma: +199/-15
    • View Profile
Re: "No files to restore" when swapping out failed drive
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2017, 02:05:09 pm »
Below is attached the logfile for the last several days, which includes a few days before and after the restore attempt.

Or did you mean a different log file?

Code: [Select]
[2017-05-10 00:01:08,698] INFO : DRU1 size=1820830639055
[2017-05-10 00:01:08,698] INFO : DRU2 size=1958307109991
[2017-05-10 00:01:08,698] INFO : DRU3 size=1942245718189
[2017-05-10 00:01:08,698] INFO : DRU4 size=0
[2017-05-10 00:01:08,698] INFO : DRU5 size=1897133370502
[2017-05-10 00:01:08,698] INFO : DRU6 size=1851705862189
[2017-05-10 00:01:08,698] INFO : DRU7 size=1898970042381
[2017-05-10 00:01:08,698] INFO : DRU8 size=1666056797912
These logs show DRU 4 with a size of 0, which means it was empty. Do you have previous logs that show it with a different size?

Offline weedenbc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: "No files to restore" when swapping out failed drive
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2017, 06:57:54 pm »
Log files for a few days before and since the failure is attached.

On 5/1 I had a HDD failure that resulting in something like a "click of death." I was away on a trip, so my wife shut down the machine. On 5/4 I booted it back up, and removed the drive to try and diagnose it. That evening it did an automatic update with DRU4 set to zero (because the drive was pulled).

On 5/17 I finally had a replacement drive and tried to do the restore, which completed without actually restoring anything.

My guess is that the previous updates with a missing DRU4 created a new parity set that reflected no data for that drive, and thus nothing to backup?

If so, might it be possible to put in a check in the automated update to somehow check and see if there was a failure/missing drive so as to not override the parity?