Author Topic: Does tRAID for Windows require SMB 1.0?  (Read 254 times)

Offline steve-jarrell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Does tRAID for Windows require SMB 1.0?
« on: May 17, 2017, 09:24:05 pm »
I have seen recent security guidance for Windows 10 suggesting that the optional feature SMB 1.0 should be disabled, as it is inherently less secure than later SMB versions available in Windows 10. However, when I tried that on my tRAID server machine, I could no longer see my tRAID database on my network. Re-enabling SMB 1.0 made it visible again. I assume this means tRAID relies on the older protocol. Is there a way for me to specify that it use a later one, or am I wrong about what I am seeing?

Thanks

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,483
  • Karma: +201/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Does tRAID for Windows require SMB 1.0?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2017, 05:50:11 pm »
No.
Networking to a tRAID volume is governed by your OS. So, tRAID does not have any dependency on the version of SMB.

Offline steve-jarrell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Does tRAID for Windows require SMB 1.0?
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2017, 10:21:18 am »
After more testing, this is definitely not a tRAID issue at all. The problem is that Windows 10 File Explorer does not show the tRAID server without SMB1 enabled on both machines. The server is still accessibly by various other means, but File Explorer will not list it. I have tested this multiple times. Even though Microsoft wants us to turn off SMB1, they haven't done all they need to do to make that practical.