Author Topic: Presale Questions  (Read 616 times)

Offline AlanT

• View Profile
Presale Questions
« on: April 17, 2018, 05:47:34 pm »
Just checking here if I've gathered the most recent information from the forums regarding what I'm planning to do, and which version I need.

I'm a photographer / videographer, and many of my recent jobs have produced over 100GB of data to be stored.  I edit the files on the internal drives of my system, and when they are complete, I move them to external hard drives for long-term storage.  Occasionally, I update these files with fresh edits, but not often.

My main computer is running Windows 7, and I have a MediaSonic USB ProBox holding (4) 6TB drives.  Previously, I had been using the drives separately, with 2 drives for media storage, and the other 2 for backups.  I recently purchased (2) 8TB USB drives to expand my long-term storage.  I would like to use my drives more efficiently, and something along a RAID-5 setup would be nice.

I looked into the RAID-5 USB enclosures, and they won't use the drives I have now, being mostly WD Blue/Green drives.

Would it be feasible to pool the (4) 6TB drives to hold the main media, and set up another pool with the 8TB drives for backups using FlexRAID-FS?

Sounds like this is the system I need, although it also sounds like I won't be able to set up 2 separate drive pools.  Is this correct?

If I'm limited to only 1 drive pool, what is the best way to utilize the drives I have?  While I do want to do whatever I can to ensure the safety of the media, the world won't end if I lose files.  My preference would be to use 30% or less of my drive space for backups / parity data.

At this point, I really only have 2 main concerns.