Author Topic: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"  (Read 297 times)

Offline patrog107

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« on: March 15, 2019, 01:34:51 pm »
Brand new to flexraid...but can't find anything on this error.
Here's the scenario:
I have two PPUs and one showed-up as "MISSING".  On selecting Restore/Swap out, it says RAID operations were detected and I need to run an Update before starting the storage pool.  I ran an update twice and ended up with open file errors (open files or something like that)...so, I stopped Plex and the storage pool and ran the update again and after a couple days, it says it's complete at the top, but shows 50% complete at the bottom.
I'm still unable to do anything with the "MISSING" PPU as I still get the Pending RAID operations/run Update message.  I've run drive tests against the "MISSING" drive and everything comes out fine.
Here is the info from the log.

[2019-03-13 00:29:27,066] INFO : Mounting Storage Pool drive...
[2019-03-13 08:47:52,956] INFO : Unmounting View...
[2019-03-13 08:47:57,997] INFO : Unmounting View complete...
[2019-03-13 08:48:11,593] INFO : Executing update...
[2019-03-13 08:48:11,593] INFO : [update] started at: Wed Mar 13 08:48:11 PDT 2019
[2019-03-13 08:48:13,532] INFO : Using RAID engine Tx
[2019-03-13 08:48:13,532] WARN : The Tx engine requires full parity re-creation when adding a new DRU or new PPU!
[2019-03-13 08:48:13,532] WARN : Parity re-creation through the rsynch task is slower than through the create task!
[2019-03-13 08:48:13,532] WARN : Re-creating parity through rsynch...
[2019-03-13 08:49:00,096] INFO : Total process size = 7950818082816
[2019-03-13 08:49:00,096] INFO : Max data size = 7950818082816
[2019-03-13 08:49:00,096] INFO : DRU1 size=7947680955692
[2019-03-13 08:49:00,096] INFO : DRU2 size=7950817231969
[2019-03-13 08:49:00,096] INFO : DRU3 size=7942821316577
[2019-03-13 08:49:00,096] INFO : DRU4 size=4140863467768
[2019-03-13 08:49:00,096] INFO : DRU5 size=0
[2019-03-13 08:49:00,096] INFO : DRU6 size=0
[2019-03-14 05:32:55,835] ERROR: Cannot re-validate blank file!
java.io.IOException: Cannot re-validate blank file!
   at com.tchegbe.lib.common.io.d.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   at com.tchegbe.lib.io.a.e.a.b.run(Unknown Source)
   at com.tchegbe.lib.common.io.e.m.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
[2019-03-14 20:51:48,622] ERROR: [update] error: RuntimeException[Cannot re-validate blank file!]
java.lang.RuntimeException: Cannot re-validate blank file!
   at com.tchegbe.lib.io.a.e.a.b.run(Unknown Source)
   at com.tchegbe.lib.common.io.e.m.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.io.IOException: Cannot re-validate blank file!
   at com.tchegbe.lib.common.io.d.<unknown>(Unknown Source)
   ... 3 more
[2019-03-14 20:51:48,629] INFO : [update] completed at: Thu Mar 14 20:51:48 PDT 2019
« Last Edit: March 15, 2019, 02:54:54 pm by patrog107 »

Offline Skirge01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2019, 03:57:45 pm »
I haven't used RAID-F in ages, but if this is just a PPU, can't you delete the PPU from the UI, wipe the drive, then add it as a new PPU and recreate the parity from the existing data on the DRUs?

Offline patrog107

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2019, 04:45:23 pm »
I wish I could do exactly that, but the only option I see is restore/swap out and when I select that, I get a pop-up telling me to Update.  Again, I'm new here, so if there's another option I'm missing to do that, please share.

Offline Skirge01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2019, 11:14:26 am »
Is this guide of any use in your situation?  I'm completely unfamiliar with the current version of RAID-F, so I'm flying completely blind here.  Sorry I'm not much help.

Offline patrog107

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2019, 10:49:44 pm »
Thank you for getting back to me!  You may have linked the wrong article as your link took me to "Understanding Multi-Step Parity" which appears to have something to do with DVDs...which is definitely not my situation.

Offline Skirge01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2019, 10:52:42 am »
No problem.  I'm trying.  LOL!  Like I said, I don't know much about RAID-F or how you have it set up:  cruise control, etc.  Since you said you had 2 PPUs, you could have had multi-step parity in place.  I didn't know if that was the only case where someone could have 2 PPUs or not.

If the swap/restore isn't working, I'm assuming you still have the option of deleting your array's entire configuration and recreate it from scratch?  Since you only dropped your PPU, that indicates to me that your DRUs are still fine.  If you do this, just make sure you don't delete the installation of flexraid itself, since it might ask you to activate your license again and that likely won't work.

Offline patrog107

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2019, 11:59:08 pm »
Yes, I do have the "Delete Configuration" option, but haven't messed with that yet...as I don't want to lose data.  My DRUs all seem fine and have all their data.

So, what exactly does "Delete Configuration" do?  Is only configuration information removed, leaving my data intact?  Coming from a standard RAID setup, that option freaks me out a bit!  LOL!

Offline Skirge01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2019, 12:54:57 pm »
Isn't RAID-F just like tRAID, in that you could shut down your computer, place a DRU into another computer and still access all the data?  If that's the case, then all you'd be doing is telling RAID-F that the raid doesn't exist and then you'd recreate it just like you did when you first fired up the RAID-F UI.  Generally, I'm pretty confident in saying that all FlexRAID software leaves your data (DRUs) alone unless you're restoring from parity (PPU) to a DRU.

If you decide to do this, you may want to wipe your PPUs before recreating, just so the software doesn't get confused by the existing parity data.

Offline patrog107

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2019, 03:15:00 pm »
Hmm...Makes sense...I may give that a shot.  Can you confirm that creating a new configuration doesn't automatically format the drives added to that configuration?  I read that you can bring data and just overlay the config...just want to make sure I don't nix my data when recreating.

Thank you,
Patrick

Offline Skirge01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2019, 03:56:51 pm »
Since I'm not running RAID-F, I can't in good faith tell you that's the case.  I can tell you that tRAID DEFINITELY does NOT format DRUs, however.  Do you recall what happened when you first set up RAID-F?  Did you have to copy all your data over to the array after you created it or did you simply use drives with existing data?  I assume there's an installation guide for RAID-F, so you might want to refresh your memory by looking it over again before starting.

Offline patrog107

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2019, 01:04:15 pm »
I initially copied all my data over as it was coming from a standard RAID array.  Anyway, yeah...I'll look through the installation guide to confirm and go from there.  I don't see any reason it would be any different for snapshot versus realtime.

Offline patrog107

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2019, 12:33:21 am »
Alright, I'm back after taking some time to summon up the courage to potentially wipe out my data.   :D

So I deleted my config and started over.  All drives showed back up in explorer, data intact.  I labelled them appropriately, deleted the data off the parity drives and kicked-off the new config...and now it's the waiting game.  Expecting 20+/- hours to get through the Parity Computation Process and we'll see where we're at.  The good news is that the drive that was showing as "Missing" shows up as "Healthy" now.  I did find that it was the only one missing a drive letter after deleting the config.  Maybe it not having one caused the issue...maybe not.  Regardless, I assigned a letter, labelled it and it's back into production.

I've seen this question out there several times...with no definitive answer, so I'll ask again.
How many PPUs do you need?
For example...my config has 6 x 8tb DRUs and 2 x 8tb PPUs.
Is that acceptable?  Am I at risk?  Am I wasting space?  How do you know?

Will report back on progress.

Offline patrog107

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2019, 10:50:42 pm »
Well, I'm back online.  Deleting the configuration and redoing it did the trick...Thank you for the help!

Offline Skirge01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Update Fails with "Cannot re-validate blank file!"
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2019, 10:34:48 pm »
Awesome!  Glad it worked as I hoped.

As far as the PPUs, this is dependent upon you.  I only use one because I have a robust backup strategy for important data.  I understand that any form of RAID is NOT any form of backup.  It's meant for up-time and, maybe--if I'm being honest--just a little peace of mind regarding backups.  However, that's only for things that I truly don't care if I lose, such as my video rips and CD rips, of which my physical media is my true backup.  Photos, system images, and other important data are backed up nightly via various methods.

What parity (i.e. RAID) is intended to do is ensure that you don't lose anything while you're in the process of replacing a failing/failed (i.e. dropped) disk.  To ensure you never even have a dropped disk, install HD Sentinel and set it to its strict setting, which will monitor your drives and let you know there's an UPCOMING issue with one of your drives.  The notices in HDS happen as soon as the software feels a drive health is less than 100%.  The percentage will slowly decrease as it sees more errors occur.  This will allow you PLENTY of time to order a new drive, and then you'd just swap one drive for the other when you get the chance.  If you do this, I honestly don't see a reason for a 2nd PPU because the odds of two drives having issues reported in HD Sentinel at the same time is rare.  (Unless your server is having issue, such as a vibration or heat issue, which is slowly killing all your drives or something.)  Rarer still would be that BOTH drives manage to degrade far enough in HDS (i.e. 0% health) that they then get dropped in FlexRAID before either drive has been replaced.  You'd seriously have to have the worst luck to see that happen.

In my mind, you're wasting space with 2 PPUs if you have a solid backup plan and have HDS monitoring your server.