Author Topic: Pool will not autostart on Server 2012 R2  (Read 1865 times)

Offline narkotic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Pool will not autostart on Server 2012 R2
« on: August 25, 2015, 03:38:26 pm »
Found this thread:

http://forum.flexraid.com/index.php/topic,3448.15.html

Having the same issue. The forum prompted me to start a new topic since this one was so old, but there is no solution.

I, too, try to start it manually to which it tells me "something has changed, please reboot".

Not the best to have to keep rebooting a server. Kind of the point to not have to reboot it.

Can I provide any logs? Help in any way? Please let me know how to do this. I'm on my trial period and really want to purchase this suite but this is a show stopper.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Pool will not autostart on Server 2012 R2
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2015, 03:51:22 pm »
Not much can be done other than disabling Storage Pool caching OS Caching. The issue has to do with your disk/controller drivers.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2015, 10:39:37 am by Brahim »

Offline narkotic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pool will not autostart on Server 2012 R2
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2015, 09:39:58 am »
How can you tell? Known issue?

Is there any way to delay the startup?

By disabling caching - do you mean :

1. Landing Disk (I have)
2. Windows caching
3. Memory caching?

Thanks!

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Pool will not autostart on Server 2012 R2
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2015, 09:43:18 am »
That means to disable OS Caching in your RAID option settings (not Storage Pool Caching).

Offline narkotic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pool will not autostart on Server 2012 R2
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2015, 10:05:33 am »
I am pretty sure I tried this... but I will try it again! I believe this option requires a full OS restart. I'll let you know.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Pool will not autostart on Server 2012 R2
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2015, 10:08:23 am »
You might have to restart twice. With OS Caching on, the array cannot be stopped and requires a reboot. So, change the setting before rebooting.
Then after the reboot, you will start the array with OS Caching off. You might be prompted to reboot again.

Offline narkotic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pool will not autostart on Server 2012 R2
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2015, 10:11:31 am »
AHH That explains why it does that to me sometimes.. I'll try to start the array after a fresh boot and it'll say "reboot again". Frustrating a little bit but at least I understand now.

Thank you for the prompt responses, this makes me feel a bit better.

I was having a helluva time transferring my 6TB of data from the Drobo to this array. Files / folders just kept "disappearing". I can't explain why.. but maybe the drobo was falling offline. Scary stuff. Luckily I have two drobos, one was used as a backup device using synctoy.

Also - I sent you an e-mail via your website regarding a press opportunity with a high end audio magazine I write for. Please have a look, or I can re-send to an alternate e-mail..

Thanks,

Pete

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Pool will not autostart on Server 2012 R2
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2015, 10:41:45 am »
Ah, cool. Will check it out later today and will get back to you on it.
Thanks. :)

Offline narkotic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pool will not autostart on Server 2012 R2
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2015, 12:01:44 am »
I wanted to reply back to this topic to say that this issue is resolved once I disabled Windows caching as Brahim stated to do.