Author Topic: FlexRAID License Exception  (Read 1490 times)

Offline pinko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
FlexRAID License Exception
« on: September 29, 2015, 07:21:06 am »
Hi,

FlexRAID accepted my key file and in the main screen it looks like regestered, but when I try to start the Storage pool I get:

Quote
"License Exception: Is the feature you are trying to use licensed?"

Looks like reinstalling the program doesn't help, any suggestions how to fix it?

Thanks


Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: FlexRAID License Exception
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2015, 07:56:30 am »
Email sales at flexraid dot com for all licensing issues. Provide them with your purchase code and an explanation of the issue.

Offline pinko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FlexRAID License Exception
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2015, 11:25:57 pm »
Brahim,

Either I am not getting it or with all due respect but at sales at flexraid . com have no clue what they are doing ... please see my e-mail exchange with them so far.

Their answer was that I can not use Snapshot Cruse Control with my license (which I have been using for the past two years) and finally the advise was to setup a Snapshot RAID configuration in Expert mode !?  >:(

So did I pay only for FlexRAID Snapshot Expert Mode and not CruseControl?

Hope you can clarify the situation,
Regards

P.s. Because someone deleted this message with no information about the reason for the deletion I am re-posting it.

Quote
Hi,

You cannot use any pooling feature with your license.
Your license does not allow for it. So, regardless of what you were able
to do before, your license simply does not include pooling features.

> Hello,
>
> This screenshot was to show you that:
> I AM USING FLEXRAID SNAPSHOT WHICH I PURCHASED LICENSE FOR!!!
>
> In my first e-mail I attached a screenshot with the error.
> In case that you missed it and to make it easier for you I am attaching it
> again - see Err1.jpg
>
> Could you please explain:
> WHY THE HELL I CAN NOT USE THE CRUISE CONTROL NOW - I PAID FOR IT AND I
> USED IT FOR TWO YEARS???
>
>
> Looking forward hearing from you how to resolve the issue.
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>> Date: Tue, 29 Sep 2015 20:16:17 -0700
>> Subject: RE: FlexRAID: License Exception problem
>> From: sales@flexraid.com
>> To: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>>
>> Hi,
>>
>> 1. The screenshot you attached contains no error.
>>
>> 2. You basically cannot use Cruise Control effectively with your
>> license.
>> Just setup a Snapshot RAID configuration in Expert mode.
>>
>> > Hello,
>> >
>> > I am getting this error while using Snapshot RAID in cruise control,
>> > please see the attached screenshot Err3.jpg.
>> >
>> > I am using FlexRAID the same way that I used it for the last two
>> years,
>> > the problem appeared after reinstalling FlexRAID last week.
>> >
>> > Could you please advise.
>> >
>> > Regards
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >> Date: Tue, 29 Sep 2015 16:08:26 -0700
>> >> Subject: RE: FlexRAID: License Exception problem
>> >> From: sales@flexraid.com
>> >> To: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>> >>
>> >> Your license is only for Snapshot RAID.
>> >> You don't have a license for Pooling and hence the error.
>> >>
>> >> > Hello,
>> >> >
>> >> > this is the purchase code that I received on my email in 2013 when I
>> >> > purchased the license, Is that what you need?
>> >> > Purchase code: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>> >> > Regards,
>> >> >
>> >> >
>> >> >
>> >> >
>> >> >> Date: Tue, 29 Sep 2015 15:24:18 -0700
>> >> >> Subject: Re: FlexRAID: License Exception problem
>> >> >> From: sales@flexraid.com
>> >> >> To: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
>> >> >>
>> >> >> Hi,
>> >> >>
>> >> >> What is your purchase code? That or your PayPal email address?
>> >> >>
>> >> >> > Hi,
>> >> >> >
>> >> >> > FlexRAID accepted my key file and in the main screen it looks
>> like
>> >> >> > registered,
>> >> >> > but when I try to start the Storage pool I get:
>> >> >> >
>> >> >> > "License Exception: Is the feature you are trying to use
>> licensed?"
>> >> >> >
>> >> >> > Looks like reinstalling the program doesn't help, any
>> suggestions
>> >> how
>> >> >> to
>> >> >> > fix it?
>> >> >> >
>> >> >> > Thanks
>> >> >> >
>> >> >> > P.s. I am attaching two screenshots, two log files and my
>> FlexRAID
>> >> >> key.
>> >> >> >
>> >> >>
>> >> >>
>> >> >
>> >>
>> >>
>> >
>>
>>
>
« Last Edit: September 29, 2015, 11:43:25 pm by pinko »

Offline pinko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FlexRAID License Exception
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2015, 11:23:30 am »
In Expert Mode with Snapshot RAID I got the same error ... so no luck there either. Now even the program can't be activated after reinstalling it, see the attached file - It looks like that I bought completely useless license.

Sales at flexraid . com have no idea what's going on repeating the same nonsense and it's a complete silence here with no customer support whatsoever ...

I guess this has been enough for me - good product, but customer support is at its lowest! I am going to buy another Software RAID and I WILL NEVER EVER AGAIN RECOMMEND IT TO MY OWN CLIENTS in their PC builds!

Also I am going to make sure that in every Software and PC related forum where I participate they know what they will have to deal with in case they decide to purchase this product. As I was skimmed few bucks here I will make sure you lose to your competition 100x the equivalent in potential customers.

Good luck!
« Last Edit: October 01, 2015, 11:36:38 am by pinko »

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: FlexRAID License Exception
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2015, 11:54:08 am »
@pinko
You need to take a deep breath before you give yourself an aneurysm.
Things are looking complex only because you are letting yourself getting frustrated.

1. Sales told you that your license does not allow for pooling, which is correct. So, you trying the start the Cruise Control pooling feature and it not allowing you to do so is self explanatory.

2. You attempted to import your license file and it failed. Why are you surprised that the program is giving you a license exception? You are again missing the most obvious things by getting frustrated.

3. You likely have system changes that have invalidated your license file. So, first try using the purchase code, but ultimately refer to http://wiki.flexraid.com/2012/05/04/licensing-hardware-changes-and-license-transfer/
You may need to initiate a license transfer if you qualify or purchase a new license.


Offline pinko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FlexRAID License Exception
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2015, 12:13:48 pm »
Brahim,

Of course I am frustrated - how would you be if no one is explaining anything!

Yes I changed all of the hardware and got new drives too however my license is to be used only in ONE computer. When I purchased my license in 2013, it was for ONE COMPUTER and nowhere it was mentioned that I am purchasing it for one ONE PARTICULAR HARDWARE.  Under these conditions I am not purchasing new license, I will simply buy the software elsewhere.

Regards