Author Topic: Scheduled Jobs not working  (Read 1584 times)

Offline FrostyWolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Scheduled Jobs not working
« on: January 10, 2016, 12:03:51 pm »
I have 3 jobs scheduled:

http://i.imgur.com/2T1e8XT.png

The Verify Sync RAID job will not run.  When the "next run" time happens, it just advances to the next day.  I have deleted and remade the job, same thing.

http://i.imgur.com/v1XdQXi.png

I deleted the entire raid.  Remade it, and rebuilt the parity data just fine.

http://i.imgur.com/oeGdwBc.png

Then I remade the scheduled job, and it still didn't run.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Scheduled Jobs not working
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2016, 03:40:37 pm »
You haven't shown anything that proves the job won't isn't running.
You can select a schedule job in the scheduler and make it run manually as a test.

Offline FrostyWolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Scheduled Jobs not working
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2016, 04:03:04 pm »
You haven't shown anything that proves the job won't isn't running.
You can select a schedule job in the scheduler and make it run manually as a test.

I'm not trying to prove to you it's not running,  I am telling you it's not running.  I know its not because nothing is listed under "tasks", and I'm not getting a success/fail email.  I don't see the point in showing you a picture of that (a picture of...nothing?) because its what the entire post is about, lmao.  I never was asking if it was running or not, I'm trying to figure out why it isn't.

"Run selected now!" just flickers the screen and does this:

http://i.imgur.com/mXmUS0P.png

here it is again:

http://i.imgur.com/4dmjgDG.png

Still with nothing in tasks, or no email sent.


The only task that is successfully running is the Database backup.


EDIT: I discovered the problem my self.  The issue seems to have to do with how the scheduler knows what raid configuration to run on.  I was able to simply fix the issue by renaming the raid to "Media".  The problem most likely originally started when I added to new drives to the raid, and I decided to just rebuild the config from scratch when I did.  I used the default name (same as I did the first time) but that seemed to break the schedule tasks from running.  Same thing when I rebuilt it again from scratch, I never changed the name.

Yes, I have always completely deleted all configurations and tasks, and remade them all from scratch.  Everytime I rebuilt the raid I also deleted all tasks and remade them.

Somewhere along the line not renaming the raid each time I rebuilt it broke the scheduler from being able to tell what configuration (I only have the one) to run the tasks on.  Changing the name to something else has fixed it.  I don't have the code in front of me but it sounds like the drop down where you pick which raid to run the task on (based on name only) was still linking to the old deleted raid of the same name instead of the new one.

« Last Edit: January 10, 2016, 04:27:41 pm by FrostyWolf »

Offline jag131990

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Scheduled Jobs not working
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2016, 03:10:07 am »
I can confirm this bug exists after recreating my raid with the same name also. All symptoms match OP exactly

Offline nettech_gt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Scheduled Jobs not working
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2017, 11:36:20 am »
I can also confirm this bug exists after recreating my raid with the same name. All symptoms match OP exactly.

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: Scheduled Jobs not working
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2017, 05:59:19 pm »
Thanks for the report. I will look into it.