Author Topic: RAID Monitoring tab not working  (Read 3207 times)

Offline jtziavel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
RAID Monitoring tab not working
« on: January 11, 2016, 03:25:21 am »
Hi guys,

I recently noticed that after upgrading FlexRaid the raid monitoring tab no longer works. The RAID Monitoring tab states "The RAID array is offline! No RAID stats available..." in the error log console, even though the RAID is online and I can access all my data. See attached screenshots.

Any help will be appreciated.

Cheers,
Jim


Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 09:48:38 am »
You need to enable RAID monitoring in your RAID options. The array must be published with those options enabled before the plugin can present you with the collected data.

Offline jtziavel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2016, 04:01:29 pm »
Hi Brahim,

Thank you for the feedback. I can confirm that the monitoring was enabled and it used to work without issue pre-update. One other thing I noticed is that if I log out of the WebUI and then back into it, the RAID configuration tab makes it seem as if the RAID isn't running. The Start button is available and the STop button is greyed out, kind of indicating that the array isn't published. However, it is published and I can access the storage pool without issue.

If I do click on the Start button, I get the following message:

Port 1 WX11DB4H8RK7 (RAID D1) has already been published and cannot be published again as part of this operation!

So even though the RAID is published and working, it appears the GUI isn't aware of it for some strange reason. This probably also ties into why the monitoring tab isn't working because it thinks the array is offline.


Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2016, 05:23:08 pm »
Have you tried clearly your browser's cache?

Offline jtziavel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2016, 07:03:33 pm »
Hi Brahim,

Yes I have and I have tried different browsers. I also tried the "rename trick" that some other people had mentioned but I didn't think they would work as you stated the name in the WebUI has no real bearing on this issue.

Regards,
Jim

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2016, 12:41:00 pm »
Your broker and kernel version don't match. Make sure you did a proper install of the latest release.

Offline jtziavel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2016, 05:38:09 pm »
OK thanks for the feedback. I was certain the upgrade went by fine without issue. I'll re-run the upgrade again and look a little closer this time.

Offline jtziavel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2016, 08:30:01 pm »
Hi Brahim,

Apologies for the delay in getting back to you. I uninstalled the host package and re-installed following the instructions in this wiki post:

http://wiki.flexraid.com/2013/06/27/uninstalling-or-upgrading-the-transparent-raid-host-package/

On the uninstall it mentioned OEM not found. I assume this is where my problem is. I didn't notice that last time.

After the reboot I tried the install. It seemed to install the service OK, but noted that the driver was already installed and exited. See attched screenshots.

Regards,
Jim

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2016, 08:39:16 pm »
You need to uninstall again and make sure to follow the reboots requirements.
If the driver is still not uninstalling, manually do so through your system's device manager. Stop the device first and then choose to uninstall it.

Offline jtziavel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2016, 09:10:51 pm »
Hi Brahim,

Thanks for the update. Just to be clear, in case the uninstall doesn't work correctly, this is the driver I need to un-install via device manager?

Regards,
Jim

Offline jtziavel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2016, 05:27:09 am »
Hi Brahim,

Success... somewhat. The uninstall script failed again (successfully removes the service, but not the driver). I rebooted, then uninstalled the driver via device manager and then rebooted again. The installer completed successfully. After the reboot I now have matching broker and kernel versions:

Broker: 1.0.0 2015.11.09
Kernel: 1.0.0 2015.11.09

Scheduled tasks now work again, however the monitoring tab still doesn't work. The error log console reports "ErrorCode=31 ErrorMessage=A device attached to the system is not functioning.".

Regards,
Jim

Offline ksk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #11 on: December 10, 2016, 11:02:58 pm »
I have this error message as well. "ErrorCode=31 ErrorMessage=A device attached to the system is not functioning.".

Tried in existing windows as well as fresh new windows installation as suggested in other post. Still same.
Oh man. I just bought my tRaid license...
« Last Edit: December 10, 2016, 11:04:47 pm by ksk »

Offline Brahim

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,547
  • Karma: +204/-16
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2017, 11:02:05 pm »
This is resolved for the next build.
A patch will also be issued in the interim.

Offline cogliostrio

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2017, 06:07:00 am »
I would be quite interested in a patch for this.

Running Ubuntu 14.04.5 LTS with kernel/broker: 1.0.0 2015.11.09

Offline nettech_gt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAID Monitoring tab not working
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2017, 11:33:02 am »
Any update on the patch? I get the the same error reported by ksk. Thanx!